Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I figured out how to make these the best bran muffins ever! The trick is to use fancy molasses rather than blackstrap or other types. Fancy molasses seems to be less intense in flavor. Also add 2 tbsp. of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. of cinnimon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This was a very easy bran muffin recipe. It was moist and full of flavor. I did 1/4 cup each of molasses and honey instead of 1/2 c. molasses, just a preference. I also added some ground flaxseed 2TB (which acts like oil in baking) (so 1TB of canola oil was enough). These muffins are very good, and have good flavor. I was a little worried about the batter looking kinda runny at first, but the flakes soak it up pretty fast and they turn out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
We made this recipe as it stands. We used Brer Rabbit full flavor molasses and Wheaties cereal. Maybe this was a problem. They are moist, but they are not very flavorful at all. Mostly molasses taste. We could barely taste the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I LOVED this recipe! The muffins are so moist and delicious, you'd never even guess they were good for you. I followed one person's instructions and added a pinch of cinnamon and YUM! You have to like the taste of molasses though, which I do. Thanks for such a wonderful, healthy recipe! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
These were good muffins. They actually tasted better the second day because they were a little too moist the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
The kids and dh didn't care for these too much. They smell great while cooking thou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I took these muffins to a party and they were a big hit. They are so healthy, but they taste great and I ended up giving the recipie out to everyone there. These were a nice contrast to everything else at the party egs. cookies, pies, etc. The batter was really runny, which freaked me out a little bit, but all turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Another happy customer! These make for a delicious, low-calorie breakfast. I omitted the raisins (by request). I'll bet dates or dried currants would also be tasty but DBF wanted "plain" this time. Substituted 1T of ground flax seed for half the oil; used 1/4 cup eggBeaters (r) instead of the egg; both of these are my "usual" procedure with any recipe. Next time, I'll add the cinnamon suggested by another poster; I've made a note on the recipe to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
These are great muffins that my kids love. This is a good way of getting iron for the non meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe makes excellent muffins. I've made them with coconut added as well. However, I suspect that the 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda should actually be 1 teaspoon of baking powder plus 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, as is common in most recipes. The extra baking soda could account for the unusual taste detected by some of the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States