Molasses Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great tasting, healthy muffins! I used whole wheat flour instead of white...for a little extra health kick. Very moist! Also, not too sweet. Of course, it's probably because I forgot to add the raisins/craisins before baking and the recipe doesn't remind you to add them to the batter. Still yummy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
While making the batter for these I kept saying there was no way these were going to turn out - the batter was very watery but they came out moist, chewey and very tasty. Only complaint was they were too molassesey. Next time I will cut back on the amount of molasses and use a combination of molasses and honey (maple syrup or mashed banana would be nice too). Only things I altered were I used 2tbsp of apple puree instead of the oil, added a cup of raisins instead of a half and I cut back on the baking soda as another reviewer suggested. I might crush the bran flakes next time too - see what that does to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
wow- healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe makes excellent muffins. I've made them with coconut added as well. However, I suspect that the 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda should actually be 1 teaspoon of baking powder plus 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, as is common in most recipes. The extra baking soda could account for the unusual taste detected by some of the reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
These are great muffins that my kids love. This is a good way of getting iron for the non meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Another happy customer! These make for a delicious, low-calorie breakfast. I omitted the raisins (by request). I'll bet dates or dried currants would also be tasty but DBF wanted "plain" this time. Substituted 1T of ground flax seed for half the oil; used 1/4 cup eggBeaters (r) instead of the egg; both of these are my "usual" procedure with any recipe. Next time, I'll add the cinnamon suggested by another poster; I've made a note on the recipe to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I took these muffins to a party and they were a big hit. They are so healthy, but they taste great and I ended up giving the recipie out to everyone there. These were a nice contrast to everything else at the party egs. cookies, pies, etc. The batter was really runny, which freaked me out a little bit, but all turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
The kids and dh didn't care for these too much. They smell great while cooking thou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
These were good muffins. They actually tasted better the second day because they were a little too moist the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I LOVED this recipe! The muffins are so moist and delicious, you'd never even guess they were good for you. I followed one person's instructions and added a pinch of cinnamon and YUM! You have to like the taste of molasses though, which I do. Thanks for such a wonderful, healthy recipe! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States