Molasses Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Loved this! I did lessen my blackstrap molasses, adding 3/4 c. instead of 1 c. and adding approx. 1/8 c. raw honey. The batter tasted funny, and I was worried, but the bread is fantastic! My children love it, and my husband loves it.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this recipe as directed and then added a powder sugar glaze drizzled over the top. Oh man is it delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I used light molasses and the taste was still overpowering. If you don't like molasses don't make this bread. The good side is that it came out moist. It would have been a good tasty bread if I liked molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was a complete flop, I followed it exactly, it was too moist and didn't bake up, the insides are gooey after 1 1/2 hours in the oven. Has great flavor, however, so make it bake and it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Excellent banana loaf! I read other reviews first and I only used 1/2 cup of blackstrap molasses, and it was perfect. 1 cup would have been too much! I also made sure that the bananas were nice and mashed: I used the blender, that worked beautifully. I also used spelt flour instead of whole wheat. Also, I added 1/2 cup of walmut crumbs and it was delicious. My husband and I ate it in one afternoon! Enjoy, Daniela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
i doubled the recipe because i had 2 loaf pans....that called for 2 whole cups of molasses! my bread was black like brownies and tasted DISGUSTING. I think 1 cup wold have been fine and maybe some real sugar. i had to throw both loaves away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
SUPERB!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This recipe is great! I used blackstrap mollasses, so I cut it down to 1/2 a cup, and used four large bananas. It was moist and sweet, my family ate it in one sitting. I know not everyone liked this recipe, but I will make it whenever I have bananas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I wouldn't make it again. The molasses were so strong in the taste of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States