Molasses Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good! In my family we have been trying to re-create my grandmother's banana bread for years. My sister thinks this was spot on but for me the molasses flavor was a tad overwhelming. I would defintely make it again as it was a crowd pleaser. This is very moist. Stored in the refrigerator, it is still good after one week. I made way too much--doubled the recipe and got three loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnittingKittens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Way too much molasses. I would probably use about 1/3 of a cup of molasses for this recipe. I don't recommend this as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this with the full cup of molasses and it seemed to over power the banana flavor a little bit. Next time I would either add more bananas or less molasses. I used regular flour and that seemed to work. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Wonderful!!! This bread is awesome, the molassis makes so moist and flavorful. I altered the recipe a bit. The cooking time for me was 1 hours, 10 minutes, then another 12 to 15 mins with foil over it. That was for the first time I made it and I had more banana. This recipe below I am making right now, and hopefully it will cut down on cooking time. My version 1.5 cups flour .5 cup margarine 1 white sugar 1/4 brown sugar 1/4 cup molassas dark 1t baking powder 2 eggs 1t vanilla 2 lrg bananas smashed well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Delicious!! I love molasses. I made the recipe as written and it is very good. Unfortunately, nobody else in the house likes molasses much so I'm going to reduce the amount and add either honey or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Excellent. Just made a few changes. I used spelt flour only, 1/2 cup organic blackstrap molasses instead of a cup of molasses, added about 2/3 of a steamed apple, and a few teaspoons of agave syrup. I only baked it for 1/2 hour and it was ready. Tastes great and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My boys loved this. The combination of molasses and banana was suprisingly good. It came out extrememly moist. It reminded us of gingerbread but with bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Awesome! Used to make 18 muffins at 20 minutes. I'm a white flour gal so 1/2 cup molasses is enough for flavour. However, the whole cup makes the more "healthy" flours more palatable. Nuts? Ingredients does not list amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen St-Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I used only 1/2 cup of molasses and 1/4 cup honey. The middle was mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, but many who ate it did not. I used 1/2 cup molasses, since I use blackstrap, but I think I could have cut it back more, or added some honey for more sweetness. I wish the recipe said which sort of molasses the recipe is supposed to use. Next time I'm going to try 1/3 cup molasses and 1/4 cup honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States