Molasses Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used fancy molasses and only used 1/2 cup, the molasses flavor was just right. Unique taste and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I've checked other reviews and reduced blackstrap molasses in my dough to 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 walnuts and used non-dairy margarine. This bread comes out very dark and fills the house with delicious smell. The texture is very moist, and all of us like the flavor, but the bread is way too sweet. I wouldn't call it "healthy". I might try it again and reduce molasses even more, maybe even replace some of the banana with apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Sooo glad I found this recipe - just made it and it was awesome! Minor changes - I didn't have w/w flour, so used regular (next time will try w/w). Had dark molasses, so I reduced to 1/2 c as suggested by others. Also added 1/2 c coarsely chopped walnuts (saw in instructions but not in ingredients). Also, anytime I make a bread that is to go into a 9x5 loaf pan, I only put a portion of it in the 9x5 and the rest I put into little pans I got from my mom - some are round, some oblong, some tiny bundts. They cook very fast and the big loaf is never dry or raw in the middle - plus the grandchildren love tiny cakes of their own! House smells wonderful - having it along with stuffed pepper soup - even better because it's snowing outside!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The taste of molasses was overpowering. I'll have to take the loaves I made to work because no one at home will eat them. What a waste of flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Unfortunately I didn't see the hints about using only a 1/2 cup of molasses if using black strap, and, the recipe didn't specify. If you use an entire cup of molasses you can't even taste the bananas, which to me, defeats the purpose of calling this banana bread. Anyway, now that I know I'll try it one more time using only 1/2 cup of black strap and then review it again. To sum it up: WAY TOO SWEET and you can't taste even a "hint" of banana. Again, this was using dark, black strap molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Yum! I made these into muffins instead of bread. I used 2/3 cup dark molasses, three ripe medium-sized bananas and left out both the salt and nutmeg (personal preference). I used all-purpose flour since we were out of whole wheat. Next time I make these I will use w/w flour. Other than that, I would not change the way I made them. They had a strong molasses flavour but it didn't overpower the banana. Four stars because of the changes I made. However this one is a keeper and my family has made it a point to remind me of that. Thanks, Stellaluna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made muffins and my 12 yo daughter and I LOOOOOVE them! I added about a tsp of vanilla and used King Arthur white flour. I made 18 muffins baked for 20 minutes. I used foil and paper liners, The foil were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good, moist and not too sweet. My husband and I love molasses and I used the Grandma's Original not the heavier one and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good! In my family we have been trying to re-create my grandmother's banana bread for years. My sister thinks this was spot on but for me the molasses flavor was a tad overwhelming. I would defintely make it again as it was a crowd pleaser. This is very moist. Stored in the refrigerator, it is still good after one week. I made way too much--doubled the recipe and got three loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnittingKittens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Way too much molasses. I would probably use about 1/3 of a cup of molasses for this recipe. I don't recommend this as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States