Molasses Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Soggy, odd taste. Toss the bananas before making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe I cut the molasses in half, knowing I wouldn't want it that strong. Used 2 bananas, added raisens, everything else pretty much the same. Tasted GREAT, hubby loved, will make again and again. Almost like a "rum type cake" as some have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
love it love it love it. better than any other banana bread, and half cup of molasses is sweet enough. the taste of the baked molasses is almost a carmelized sugar taste, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFCATH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used fancy molasses and only used 1/2 cup, the molasses flavor was just right. Unique taste and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I've checked other reviews and reduced blackstrap molasses in my dough to 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 walnuts and used non-dairy margarine. This bread comes out very dark and fills the house with delicious smell. The texture is very moist, and all of us like the flavor, but the bread is way too sweet. I wouldn't call it "healthy". I might try it again and reduce molasses even more, maybe even replace some of the banana with apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Sooo glad I found this recipe - just made it and it was awesome! Minor changes - I didn't have w/w flour, so used regular (next time will try w/w). Had dark molasses, so I reduced to 1/2 c as suggested by others. Also added 1/2 c coarsely chopped walnuts (saw in instructions but not in ingredients). Also, anytime I make a bread that is to go into a 9x5 loaf pan, I only put a portion of it in the 9x5 and the rest I put into little pans I got from my mom - some are round, some oblong, some tiny bundts. They cook very fast and the big loaf is never dry or raw in the middle - plus the grandchildren love tiny cakes of their own! House smells wonderful - having it along with stuffed pepper soup - even better because it's snowing outside!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The taste of molasses was overpowering. I'll have to take the loaves I made to work because no one at home will eat them. What a waste of flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Unfortunately I didn't see the hints about using only a 1/2 cup of molasses if using black strap, and, the recipe didn't specify. If you use an entire cup of molasses you can't even taste the bananas, which to me, defeats the purpose of calling this banana bread. Anyway, now that I know I'll try it one more time using only 1/2 cup of black strap and then review it again. To sum it up: WAY TOO SWEET and you can't taste even a "hint" of banana. Again, this was using dark, black strap molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Yum! I made these into muffins instead of bread. I used 2/3 cup dark molasses, three ripe medium-sized bananas and left out both the salt and nutmeg (personal preference). I used all-purpose flour since we were out of whole wheat. Next time I make these I will use w/w flour. Other than that, I would not change the way I made them. They had a strong molasses flavour but it didn't overpower the banana. Four stars because of the changes I made. However this one is a keeper and my family has made it a point to remind me of that. Thanks, Stellaluna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made muffins and my 12 yo daughter and I LOOOOOVE them! I added about a tsp of vanilla and used King Arthur white flour. I made 18 muffins baked for 20 minutes. I used foil and paper liners, The foil were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States