Molasses Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yes, reviewing with changes. The previous reviews made me do it! :D I decreased molasses to half cup. Mind didn't say blackstrap so I guess it wasn't. Also, not all that identifiable - except by brown color - that it had molasses in in. I increased baking soda to 1t in hopes of avoiding the mushy factor. It was fine, not too much. I didn't add the nurmeg, but I think cinnamon would compliment it more. Put in two 8x4s thinking it might be too large for a 9x5. It wouldn't have been. Mellow banana flavor (four large) & pretty good, but no wows. I'm thinking banana bread with molasses spread on it might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe using 1/2 cup blackstrap molasses. Sorry to say it was really bad. The molasses overpowered everything. I can't imagine using a whole cup. Just goes to show how everyone has different tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
In the oven right now, used 1/3 c. molasses and doubled the salt to cut down the sweetness, also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Better is delicious, can't wait for it to come out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
We substituted coconut oil instead of butter as well as the suggested 1/2 c of molasses. These are GREAT!!! We did muffins for 15 minutes at 350 degrees and they pealed away perfectly from the liners. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
It is absolutely wonderful.. Although i had o reduce the cooking time to 45 minutes... I wThanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beeton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is WONDERFUL!!! Not sure how people gave it a bad rating.... It was a HUGE hit at the party!! I will make again! A MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I think this recipe has good intentions, especially for using up the jar of molasses we all have in our pantry from the last pecan pie, or gingerbread we made! Anyhow, I also cut back the molasses to 1/2 cup, but added 1/4 cup white sugar to the liquid ingredients. If you really want to get more banana flavor in the bread, peel the banana, place in bowl, and cover with plastic wrap, and cook in microwave for 3 minutes. The flavor is totally intensified! Use the banana flesh, and the juice that comes from cooking. I also used Gluten-Free flour, instead of the whole wheat flour, and increased it to 2 cups total. I also added a 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum, since there is no gluten in my flour. These came out moist, not too sweet, and my whole house smelled delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amythuey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Soggy, odd taste. Toss the bananas before making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe I cut the molasses in half, knowing I wouldn't want it that strong. Used 2 bananas, added raisens, everything else pretty much the same. Tasted GREAT, hubby loved, will make again and again. Almost like a "rum type cake" as some have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
love it love it love it. better than any other banana bread, and half cup of molasses is sweet enough. the taste of the baked molasses is almost a carmelized sugar taste, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFCATH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States