Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this recipe and used a whole chicken instead of chicken parts. A visiting friend commented that the smell of the marinade was savory and made her hungry. The chicken marinaded for about five hours and that was enough to suffuse much of the meat with garlicky-sweet flavor. The browned bits of seasonings on the skin was a big plus. This fed my family, including picky children, without any complaint, only compliment! I did serve with rice, but could see how with mashed potatoes and turning the pan drippings into gravy it would've been excellent too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is the little black dress of chicken marinades -- suitable for the oven or the grill. The first time I made this, I roasted a butterflied chicken using a short marinade time (maybe 4 hours). Fantastic flavor with a crispy skin. The second time I used this recipe, I cut the oil amount by half, used the citrus zest and marinated skinless bone-in chicken thighs overnight. Grilling low and slow produced *the* most flavorful grilled chicky. This has quickly become a favorite - thanks karmicflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We thought this was pretty good. I cut back on the cumin a bit and added a little chile powder and cayenne pepper. I don't think it needed quite so much oil. It was a bit greasy. When I make this again, I'll use less. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I use this recipe for pulled pork in the slow cooker. EXCELLENT! Just mix all the marinade ingredients together (except the oil of course) and pour over the pork in the slow cooker and let it go for 6-8 hours. FABULOUS! My family and friends love it! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I liked this very much! I'm falling in love with Cuban food, at least the dishes on this site! Made as written, except did not heat garlic & spices in olive oil first, and I am sure it would have been even more tasty if I had. Even with unheated oil it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious recipe. I doubled the marinade since I placed the chicken whole in a large bowl in the fridge. I ran short on olive oil, so I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup canola oil. Almost the entire chicken was covered, although half way through I turned the chicken. I marinaded the chicken for a total of 10 hours. Before roasting the bird (whole) I sprinkled the skin with a little paprika. I followed the instructions on this site for roasting a chicken using the high heat method. I highly recommend this as it results in a nice crispy skin. I'll be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I guess I was expecting much more flavor from the marinade than what I got. Don't get me wrong, the chicken was tender and moist, but I just didn't taste much in the way of seasonings. Next time, I'll probably add some more cumin and maybe some smoked paprika or hot sauce for some zing. Thanks, Karmicflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My husband made this for us and although we loved it (the chicken had great flavor), we found that ½ cup of oil was waaaay too much! Next time he makes this he is going to try with a ¼ of a cup of oil, possibly even less than that. Also, he let it marinade overnight; I don't think 4 hours is enough to infuse all the flavors into the chicken. Our 11 year old, extremely picky eater loved the taste too; otherwise we would add some chilies to spice it up! And I agree with one other reviewer, you could easily have this with mashed potatoes and turn the drippings into wonderful gravy!!! Thanks for a great recipe, minus some of the oil for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOESMAMANICOLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
my whole family loved this recipe. I marinated the chicken overnite, and cooked it for 55 minutes, and it turned out very tasty and moist. I will make this again and again. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I marinated for about 30 hours. The oven was in use so I grilled the chicken. The flavors really penetrated the meat, and every bite was a treat. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States