Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I used Spanish Bitter Orange (you can find that in the Spanish section of your grocery store) instead of orange juice. I went easy on the olive oil and used organic chicken (normally they are less fatty). Make sure you trim all extra fat from the skin (as much as you can) otherwise, it’ll be very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I didn't have any orange juice so I substituted Passion Fruit Juice. I was only able to marinate for about an hour, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious recipe. I doubled the marinade since I placed the chicken whole in a large bowl in the fridge. I ran short on olive oil, so I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup canola oil. Almost the entire chicken was covered, although half way through I turned the chicken. I marinaded the chicken for a total of 10 hours. Before roasting the bird (whole) I sprinkled the skin with a little paprika. I followed the instructions on this site for roasting a chicken using the high heat method. I highly recommend this as it results in a nice crispy skin. I'll be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great Marinade. I know the instructions sound a bit odd, but make it as directed and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Better than the resturants'! I love pollo asado from the mexican resturant and wanted to make it at home. This recipie is definately a keeper! I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken and added paprika and subbed 1T pineapple concentrate for the oj (because it was all I had) It turned out moist, tender and very tasty. The whole family loved it. served it with homemade frijoles and cheese, and mexican rice in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chorusgirl3
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
The chicken turned out real juicy and the citrus in the marinade was laced throughout the dish. I was expecting a bit more spice in the flavor of the chicken and after researching some more Mojo sauce recipes I think I"ll add paprika next time to give it some of that extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorusgirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed it to the exact ingredients but did not get the results i wanted for the mojo flavor i have gotten in other recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
easy marinade that really added flavor to the chicken when refrigerated overnight. I used fresh limes for the lime juice and tossed the limes in with the chicken for the marinating overnight (obviously discarded before cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
It was good. I had made this with a whole chicken as I didn't want to go through the steps to cut it up. I think I'd rather have chicken peices. Used 1 tsp cumin. Otherwise used the recipe as it is. Came out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We thought this was pretty good. I cut back on the cumin a bit and added a little chile powder and cayenne pepper. I don't think it needed quite so much oil. It was a bit greasy. When I make this again, I'll use less. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States