Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
my whole family loved this recipe. I marinated the chicken overnite, and cooked it for 55 minutes, and it turned out very tasty and moist. I will make this again and again. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious recipe. I doubled the marinade since I placed the chicken whole in a large bowl in the fridge. I ran short on olive oil, so I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup canola oil. Almost the entire chicken was covered, although half way through I turned the chicken. I marinaded the chicken for a total of 10 hours. Before roasting the bird (whole) I sprinkled the skin with a little paprika. I followed the instructions on this site for roasting a chicken using the high heat method. I highly recommend this as it results in a nice crispy skin. I'll be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I used Spanish Bitter Orange (you can find that in the Spanish section of your grocery store) instead of orange juice. I went easy on the olive oil and used organic chicken (normally they are less fatty). Make sure you trim all extra fat from the skin (as much as you can) otherwise, it’ll be very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made this recipe and used a whole chicken instead of chicken parts. A visiting friend commented that the smell of the marinade was savory and made her hungry. The chicken marinaded for about five hours and that was enough to suffuse much of the meat with garlicky-sweet flavor. The browned bits of seasonings on the skin was a big plus. This fed my family, including picky children, without any complaint, only compliment! I did serve with rice, but could see how with mashed potatoes and turning the pan drippings into gravy it would've been excellent too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
easy marinade that really added flavor to the chicken when refrigerated overnight. I used fresh limes for the lime juice and tossed the limes in with the chicken for the marinating overnight (obviously discarded before cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Better than the resturants'! I love pollo asado from the mexican resturant and wanted to make it at home. This recipie is definately a keeper! I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken and added paprika and subbed 1T pineapple concentrate for the oj (because it was all I had) It turned out moist, tender and very tasty. The whole family loved it. served it with homemade frijoles and cheese, and mexican rice in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great Marinade. I know the instructions sound a bit odd, but make it as directed and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I didn't have any orange juice so I substituted Passion Fruit Juice. I was only able to marinate for about an hour, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The last night I spent in Havana I went to a restaurant and had chicken and rice/black beans. This chicken is exactly like the chicken that they served and it was excellent. The only thing I changed was to add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the marinade. I served it with black beans and it was amazing!!! Just like I was back in Havana (complete with salsa music and a mojito!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Sooo GOOD!! My fiance and 8 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States