Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Next time, I will double the garlic. We love garlic! Awesome Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My husband made this for us and although we loved it (the chicken had great flavor), we found that ½ cup of oil was waaaay too much! Next time he makes this he is going to try with a ¼ of a cup of oil, possibly even less than that. Also, he let it marinade overnight; I don't think 4 hours is enough to infuse all the flavors into the chicken. Our 11 year old, extremely picky eater loved the taste too; otherwise we would add some chilies to spice it up! And I agree with one other reviewer, you could easily have this with mashed potatoes and turn the drippings into wonderful gravy!!! Thanks for a great recipe, minus some of the oil for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOESMAMANICOLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I guess I was expecting much more flavor from the marinade than what I got. Don't get me wrong, the chicken was tender and moist, but I just didn't taste much in the way of seasonings. Next time, I'll probably add some more cumin and maybe some smoked paprika or hot sauce for some zing. Thanks, Karmicflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Really good marinade. I had a busy day planned so I threw all of this in the crockpot without ever marinating it and cooked it on low all day. It was very flavorful. I just shredded up the meat to serve with tortillas and toppings. The only thing I might do a little differently is to put the shredded meat on a baking pan and crisp it up in the oven just a little. It was great this way but I enjoy carnitas this way. I used bonelss chicken thighs (what we had) and avocado oil instead of evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is the little black dress of chicken marinades -- suitable for the oven or the grill. The first time I made this, I roasted a butterflied chicken using a short marinade time (maybe 4 hours). Fantastic flavor with a crispy skin. The second time I used this recipe, I cut the oil amount by half, used the citrus zest and marinated skinless bone-in chicken thighs overnight. Grilling low and slow produced *the* most flavorful grilled chicky. This has quickly become a favorite - thanks karmicflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Used chicken breasts, cut into hunks for kabobs. Marinated 4-6 hours then grilled on my grill pan indoors. Chicken was juicy and good, but I wasn't wow'd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I liked this very much! I'm falling in love with Cuban food, at least the dishes on this site! Made as written, except did not heat garlic & spices in olive oil first, and I am sure it would have been even more tasty if I had. Even with unheated oil it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was not very impressed with the flavor of this chicken. It didn't really take the spices into the meat - if I were to make it again I would double or triple the amount of seasonings in the marinade. It did come out very moist and juicy (375 degrees for 50 minutes, rested for 10). I'd recommend using a boiler pan to separate the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Excellent- I have found my favorite spanish style bbq chicken - what is not to like? Great on the grill - I haven't put it in the oven and not sure if I will. I don't recommend any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Family ate this up. Great combination of flavors. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States