Mojito Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I thought this was good, and it certainly disappeared quickly from the potluck I attended. However, I would suggest a couple of changes. Firstly, I chopped the mint before adding it to the sugar/lime mixture to pull out more of the flavor, then I strained the pieces out (I liked the taste it imparted, but fresh mint leaves are fairly bitter. Chewing on them in your salad can be unpleasant). Secondly, I'd definitely add another teaspoon of sugar if you're making it for a mixed group (in other words, people who may not like mojitos). In my opinion, that takes it from the realm of "this made the fruit taste like a mojito" to "this tastes like a yummy fruit salad." I'd strongly suggest tasting the dressing before adding it and adjusting the amounts to your preference, how sour your limes were, and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Fruit is obviously refreshing and delicious on its own but adding this lime and mint dressing made it especially so. Clever title for a very creative, colorful and interestingly delicious fruit salad. Aside from adding a little more sugar for our tastes I made no changes. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I love this salad! The dressing is the perfect compliment to all of the flavors. It's helpful when the season of fresh fruit is over to make the salad last longer. I didn't change anything except switch out cantaloupe with honeydew. I don't like cantaloupe. Next time I might include mango and raspberries as well to add even more flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
So refreshing! It's peak berry season here in Oregon, so I used triple crown blackberries, raspberries, fresh peaches (peeled), kiwi and watermelon. I used the tips given by others, I chopped the mint (a lot more than 3 sprigs!) and muddled it with 1 tablespoon sugar, then squeezed the juice of 2 limes over. I let it stand while I prepared the fruit, then strained it over the fruit, pressing hard on the solids. It was refrigerated all day while I went to the movies with my book club friends, then served at the after-movie discussion. Everyone raved about how good it was, and it was gone before the end of the evening. I think this would good with just about any fruit, so it would be something that could be served any time of year. A definite keep...thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I very much enjoy this salad and have served it at several gatherings. I also added an additional teaspoon of sugar and think any five to six kinds of seasonal summer fruit work really well. I used smaller chunks of leftovers plus the ample amount of juice released by the salad over time to make tasty popsicles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is THE best fruit salad I have EVER had and will NEVER make it a different way. I add the mint and lime juice (omitting the sugar) to the food processor before adding it to the salad. INCREDIBLE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Stunning salad. I knew my family loved it when we were fighting over the leftovers. Absolutely wonderful. Simple and just luscious. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very tasty and refreshing. Made it yesterday for a bbq and people loved it, including my kids. I doubled it, could have tripled it. Note: I muddled the mint leaves with the sugar before I mixed in the lime juice. I would add a tablespoon *more* of the lime juice, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A family member recently asked me to bring a fruit salad to a potluck. My first thought was "ugh, how boring". So I started looking around for something a bit more inspired. When I found this, I knew I'd hit the jackpot. And was I right. Everyone raved that this was the best fruit salad they'd ever had and wanted the recipe. It might even have even changed my mind on fruit salad. Thanks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamassage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Perfect! The bit of sugar helps sweeten any of the fruit that was not sweet on its own, but does not over power the dish. Light and refreshing. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States