Moist and Savory Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I could see this being a very easy way to do stuffing--especially for those making their own turkey dinner for the first time. It's been a long time since I used prepared chicken broth because I make my own following a dinner using a whole chicken. I was caught off-guard by how salty this was, though that could have been because of using both a package mix and the broth. I did saute in a touch of butter my celery, carrots, and onion before adding them to the mix. Hubby thought it was a good accompaniment to the half turkey breast dinner that we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was definitely better than simply following directions for a box of stuffing, but still pales in comparison to a real homemade stuffing. The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe is a good base recipe to use as a starting point and time saver. However, I like to add additional celery and onions as well as sage, poultry seasoning, black pepper and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This seemed so easy we had to try. Did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Adding the cranberries and nuts is a creative and healthy way to enhance this delicious stuffing! Sharyn D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Just not moist enough for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Good basic recipe but here are some modifications that will jazz it up! 1) I bake it in the oven which means you cut the broth back to a cup. Saute 1 small onion, chopped and 2 celery stalks chopped in 1/4 cup melted butter. Add 1 tsp ground sage, stir everything together and bake for 30-40 min at 350. I haven't tried it yet but thinking of adding an egg as a binder. Very traditional and tastes like my moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have made my dressing with Peppridge Stuffing mix for many years. I use one pkg. Herb & 1/2 pkg.cornbread stuffing mix. I add about 2 ribs celery, 1/2 of an onion, 2 green onions, 1/2 stick of butter melted & I cut up the giblets. I sautee the onion & celery first then add giblets & saute until done. Add to bread mixture. Like some of the other reviews, I add chicken broth until it gets to the right consistency. Then I add about 3 to 4 eggs. Mix well & put in buttered casserole & bake at 350 for about 30-40 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
All loved it. I added a carton of chicken livers and mushrooms to the saute of onion, celery and butter. As the livers cooked, chopped them. Needed about a can and a half of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have been making this recipe for forty five years plus... only I add more onions and celery... and I make it the day before, only do not stuff the turkey until you are ready to cook it!! Grammie10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States