Moist and Savory Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this according to the recipe and we were not fans. After "stirring lightly to coat", the bread crumbs stayed pretty hard in the middle. It just had a weird type of texture/consistency. The flavor was ok, but the mouthfeel was not. This will not be a repeater at the LTH household (and the leftovers found a new home in the garbage can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is a tasty dish. I left out the celery as my daughter hates it. Was the first time not using stove top. Would definitely make this again. I read some of the reviews that added different spices such as sage to it. We ate it just as it was and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I really really dislike rating recipes low, but this was very dissapointing. Dressing is really only made once a year and should be made very well in my honest opinion. My typical recipe has quite a few ingredients and is smooth, soft, buttery, and absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, to give the truest opinion though. However, this just tasted like moist seasoned croutons, with an odd texture, with large pieces of boiled celery and onions. Butter is just a must in good dressing. I also feel dressing should be very moist and then baked. I even add eggs to mine. I give it to this recipe that it is quick, but not up to par with a family Thanksgiving. The recipe may be a money or time saver for boxed dressing, but it is not something I normally buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I thought I' give this a try before the holidays and while it was okay (good), I did think it was too salty. I've never used the Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned Stuffing mix before, I've always made homemade stuffing, and adding sage sausage, where I can adjust the seasoning and salt content. We liked it for a quick and easy side dish but I wouldn't go out of my way to make it again in the future. It may have been better using the unseasoned stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Have to admit it, this one surprised me. What a good recipe for a weeknight dinner. IMO this tastes as good as the box stuff (you all know the one) at only a fraction of the cost and is as easy to make. I did take the "tip" on the recipe and added in some chopped pecans and dried cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Nice simple recipe for classic homestyle stuffing. And it's a great accompaniment to roast chicken or a Thanksgiving turkey. Plus it's a great base for add-in's so you can put your own twist on it. I added a little poultry seasoning, thyme and sage. I also added a little melted butter for some additional moistness and flavor. Next time I might add in some sauage, apples or cranberries - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very easy to prepare a little bland and not as moist as my mothers still all in all not a bad dish. I would use this recipe again when I need a quick dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I added some pork sausage as that's the way my mom always made it. The sausage added a lot of flavor. Next time I will saute the onion and celery with the sausage. While I was finishing up dinner I put it in the oven to keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
In my opinion, not all that moist. I had to add an extra half cup broth at the end to moisten it up a bit. I did add quite a few ingredients, which may be the culprit, so I am only taking one star away for less than moisture. Otherwise this recipe is a pretty simple, standard stuffing recipe. I added, 1/2 lb. breakfast sausage, 8. oz sliced mushrooms, a handful of pomegranite flavored cranberries, and five small boxes of rasins (my kids had them). This ended up being a little bit too sweet for me, next time less dried fruit. With this type of recipe it is really easy to play around with flavors you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was an easy, BASIC recipe, and it was ok, but I thought it could use more spice/flavor. I did end up adding some parsley and poultry seasoning. Also, I cooked some carrots in with the celery and onions b/c I had some that needed used up. I would probably saute the veggies in some butter next time before boiling w/ the broth. Like I said, this was ok and basic, so w/ my modifications I may make this again in a pinch, though, of course, it will never be as good as our usual homemade recipe. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States