Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
My daughter wanted a birthday cake that looked like a red wagon. I made this cake in a large rectangular pan and it turned out great! This recipe is definitely a keeper in my box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This cake is moist, but not very sweet. It made enough batter for two 9 in. layers and 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
This is going to be a good fall-back recipe for yellow cakes for me. It was about as easy as batter gets, and it came out pretty well. you may want to tweak the actual recipe... mine came out on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This cake was absolutely delicious! I made 2 layers with strawberry cream filling and a whipped cream frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
Quick and easy, I baked it for a co-worker's birthday. They went nuts, they said it was moist, not to sweet, just perfect. This one is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Very tasty and very moist. Tried it with strawberries and whipped cream and made a strawberry shortcake, was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This is the best cake EVER!!! I bake alot of cakes for people and I was tired of buying box cakes, I went through alot of cakes from allreceipe but this is the best by far! From now on this is the ONLY recipe I'll use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Worked as advertised...a very good cake. I substituted sour milk (a tablespoon of lemon juice mixed with each cup of milk) for buttermilk, and it still worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a geat cake. Very moist. I recently halved the recipe & made it into two 9 inch layers (used 2 eggs) and frosted with Carolines Chocolate Fudge Frosting. I do not understand the bad reviews of it being like cornbread, but I have seen that comment on other yellow cake reviews also. THe only thing I did different was to also beat the batter well after adding the eggs, and then after all the buttermilk was added, I beat the batter for a minute or so (more than the just incorporated as stated in the recipe). I have made this many times- always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I made this cake for an anniversary party and everyone loved it. It was really moist and had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States