Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
i made this cake for the first time yesterday. i made it for a 13 y/o boys birthday party..i used all purpose flour...huge mistake..as the cake cooled, it shrank. i mixed it too long with my elecric mixer...if i had mixed it by hand after i added the eggs i am sure i would have had a different outcome...i am going to make it again with cake flour next time..and i am sure it will be wonderful!! using the all purpose flour, it was way too dense..however it was very moist and not in the least bit "corn bread like". cake flour for any and all cakes is the key!! while i was disapointed, everyone else liked it and that's the big thing. the recipe does make one cake and 12 cupcakes. i used the cupcakes to sample before the party for those that couldn't wait to taste the cake...i gave this 5 stars because it was MY error..for not putting the mixer down..if i had follwed the directions, all would have been well. i will write another review after i use cake flour. baking and cooking is all about trial and error!! nothing more, nothing less!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dna.09

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Loved this cake I used "cake flour" and the other ingredients, please sift all together. Make sure butter, milk and eggs are room temp. This is my new go to cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great recipe, definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Proteau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I love this recipe after trying several. I reduced soda to just 2 tsp and increased powder by 1/2 tsp. It made for a less soda tasting cake. I also found that creaming is the most important in making cakes or cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
It is just average hence the 3 stars. It will not be my fav yellow cake to make. It was sweet enoguh for me but sugarholics will find it bland. Its just "OK" or "GOOD ENOUGH"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I have made this cake 3 times. #1 was to the letter by the recipe and it came out like cornbread. But then again I didn't sift the flour, and tasted kinda bland, like it needed salt. Made 2 9x13 cakes. #2 was much better although I still didn't sift the flour in the traditional sense, but the batter was light and fluffy and the cake was fantastic. Used a bundt pan and made 24 cupcakes from the rest. #3 was used as a pineapple upside down cake in a 17x11x3 inch pan. Be careful of the oven temperature and timing. For this cake I turned down the temp from 350 to 325 and baked it for about 40 min. Went to take it out and it was very jiggly in the middle. Turned it back up to 350 for another 25 or so minutes, and this cake was great. I think this cake took just over an hour to bake with the 17x11x3 pan. Was an experiment. I will make this cake until I get it right, so that means a lot of baking.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Made this recipe for my boyfriend, as he is a big fan of yellow cake. I was a little put off by the other reviews calling it cornbread. So I was a little worried how it would come out. But it came out GREAT and my boyfriend loved it! I tried to find cake flour but no grocery store in my area has it. So I followed the recipe exactly, and it was awesome! I used the Hershey perfectly chocolate recipe for the frosting. It went perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This would have tasted great if I were attempting to make cornbread, but I was not. I was making a cake for a family function and had to go to the store to get a box mix because I had nothing left to salvage this one. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
PLEASE READ. I read the reviews carefully before deciding to make this cake. Needless to say i was weirded out by all of the cornbread comments. But knowing that there was not any cornmeal in the ingredients, ignored those comments and carried on. SO, as one reviewer has already stated: THERE ARE DIFFERENT KINDS OF CAKE. I was not looking for a light and fluffy cake. I was looking for a moist dense cake and this was it. NO CORNBREAD HERE. I followed the directions precisely and was very pleased. The only reason i did not give it 5 stars is because it is not the best yellow cake ive ever had. I have baked a few cakes in my day and this recipe suited its purpose. I poured the batter into 2-8" pans and i discarded the rest. i paired it with a chocolate butter cream frosting. SUCCESS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
First time I made a yellow cake from scratch & this was wonderful. I did substitute the buttermilk for 2 1/4 c 2% milk. This is a very moist cake. My husband says it reminds him of his grandmother's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States