Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a fantastic cake. Very moist and NOT corn-mealy. I was craving a yellow cake and didn't have a package on on hand. I followed the recipe with 12 servings and it was perfect!! Good bye to packaged cakes!! Highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't very impressed with the results. It WAS quite moist, but the texture and flavour were definitely off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
moist, easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Nice and moist; better texture than other yellow cakes I've tried. Not five stars because I felt it needed a bit more flavor; next time I'll add more vanilla or a touch of something else. I picked this recipe because I needed to use up some sour milk (worked fine in place of the buttermilk, but maybe that's why I thought it was short on flavor) and was very pleased. I always substitute a couple of Tbsp corn starch per cup of all purpose flour in cakes, so that may have made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had been trying all kind of recipes for yellow cakes and the were either too dry or tasted like bread...but this cake was awesome,i sifted it 4 times,all my ingredients were room temperature and in addition to the butter I cream about 3 teaspoons of butter flavored Crisco and 4 eggs instead of 3.This was the best cake I've EVER made from scratch.I made caramel frosting and needless to say the cake is half eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this cake a couple of months ago and it was a huge hit I used strawberrry icing, This cake was so MOIST will be trying it again for Christmas with real strawberries this time in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
After trying a number of "yellow cake" recipes I think the best standard plain cake is pound cake. It works well with or without frosting & if you have a great recipe, it won't be dry & it will never taste like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Beacham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Even after reading the mixed reviews, I decided that I would try these. I thought it was very odd that so many reviewers made a reference to corn bread. To disprove that theory, I worked diligently to follow every step precisely. I made sure my butter, eggs and buttermilk were at room temp. I creamed the butter and sugar until it was creamy and smooth. The oven was preheated and ready to go. I decided to make cupcakes. There was enough batter to make 30 (don't try to fill only 24 cups with this batter, because it does bubble, as some people have mentioned). My seven year old was the first to try out the finished product. He said "They're o.k., but no offense Mom, they taste like corn muffins".... And he's right!! Somehow, some way, they mutated into a corn bread taste and similar consistency. They are certainly edible and even quite good. The reason I give them one star is because I really wanted a great moist cake, not cornbread (which I could have whipped up much easier and faster).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is the best yellow cake recipe! I made this for my daughter's birthday cake using two 10" round cake pans. Worked out perfectly. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This cake is awsome. I have NO idea where some people got the idea that it tastes like cornbread. I didn't think so at all. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States