Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by AliciaGuitar
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I was worried after I sifted all that flour and took care to have room temp. items and made sure to mix the flour with butter first, then liquids, I still ended up with an extremely watery batter. I shrugged my shoulders and ladled it into cupcake pan first, thinking I may as well finish it even if it turns out bad. The cupcakes didn't rise much, but they did rise some and they were delicious! I really don't understand the corn bread responses... It was moist and sweet with no corn taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaGuitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was excellent and easy!! I used regular flour, sifted. I used regular milk 2 cups, not 2 1/2 and the butter, eggs and milk at room temperature. No soda but rather 4 1/2 tsp baking powder. It did not have a mealy texture at all, but rather a wedding cake texture. Maybe it came out so good because I creamed the butter and sugar really well. It's even good without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Is great if you want to have corn bread instead of a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This cake was great! I was running low on white sugar so I put 1 cup of brown sugar and the rest white. It is light, airy and so yummy. I made 18 cupcakes and one 9 by 13 pan. The cupcakes only needed 25 minutes and the cake was perfect after 35 minutes. I will be making this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becklynn
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Well, I accidently over cooked this cake, but it was still moist inside! I did notice a slightly corn bread like texture, but this could be because I let my nephew distract me and didn't hear the timer, so it was well done. But, like I said, still tasty and moist. It's not super sweet, which is great because I'm not a big sweets person. I also like that it makes so much so you can do specialty cakes, which is what I needed to do. Instead of two 9 x 13 pans, I did did one 9 x 9 pan and one 11 x 15 so I could chop it up and make my crazy cake for my nephew for his birthday. I posted a picture of the results. A great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becklynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent cake, however, when I made these as cupcakes they rose more than they should have. (not a pretty picture). The cake itself is lovely, light, fluffy and pleasantly sweet. I halved the recipe, using 2 eggs rather than the scaled down 1-1/2. I would definitely make this again if it wasn't for the fact that I'm spooked now because of my unfortunate, over-risen outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advice and creamed the butter in with the flour. I was apparently so pre-occupied with doing this that I completely forgot to add the sugar! Well, two 6 year olds loved it sans sugar. I frosted them with a homemade buttercream recipe from this site 'cept I subbed in Splenda. Later on, I realized I'd forgotten the sugar. So if you want a great sugar free recipe, omit the sugar ... but do frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I love them!!! they where so moist and good!!!! they ternd out really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soni's Delights
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just wanted to thank you SO much for posting this recipe. This is the fluffiest, most delicious yellow cake recipe I have made! I have been searching for a good yellow cake recipe for EVER! I didn't have buttermilk so I added 1 tsp of vinegar for each cup of milk and it worked perfectly. I also sifted the dry ingredients several times to ensure fluffiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni's Delights

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this cake for my wedding and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States