Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Have made this a number of times now. Always a hit. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliciaGuitar
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I was worried after I sifted all that flour and took care to have room temp. items and made sure to mix the flour with butter first, then liquids, I still ended up with an extremely watery batter. I shrugged my shoulders and ladled it into cupcake pan first, thinking I may as well finish it even if it turns out bad. The cupcakes didn't rise much, but they did rise some and they were delicious! I really don't understand the corn bread responses... It was moist and sweet with no corn taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaGuitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was excellent and easy!! I used regular flour, sifted. I used regular milk 2 cups, not 2 1/2 and the butter, eggs and milk at room temperature. No soda but rather 4 1/2 tsp baking powder. It did not have a mealy texture at all, but rather a wedding cake texture. Maybe it came out so good because I creamed the butter and sugar really well. It's even good without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Is great if you want to have corn bread instead of a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This cake was great! I was running low on white sugar so I put 1 cup of brown sugar and the rest white. It is light, airy and so yummy. I made 18 cupcakes and one 9 by 13 pan. The cupcakes only needed 25 minutes and the cake was perfect after 35 minutes. I will be making this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becklynn
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Well, I accidently over cooked this cake, but it was still moist inside! I did notice a slightly corn bread like texture, but this could be because I let my nephew distract me and didn't hear the timer, so it was well done. But, like I said, still tasty and moist. It's not super sweet, which is great because I'm not a big sweets person. I also like that it makes so much so you can do specialty cakes, which is what I needed to do. Instead of two 9 x 13 pans, I did did one 9 x 9 pan and one 11 x 15 so I could chop it up and make my crazy cake for my nephew for his birthday. I posted a picture of the results. A great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becklynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Excellent cake, however, when I made these as cupcakes they rose more than they should have. (not a pretty picture). The cake itself is lovely, light, fluffy and pleasantly sweet. I halved the recipe, using 2 eggs rather than the scaled down 1-1/2. I would definitely make this again if it wasn't for the fact that I'm spooked now because of my unfortunate, over-risen outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advice and creamed the butter in with the flour. I was apparently so pre-occupied with doing this that I completely forgot to add the sugar! Well, two 6 year olds loved it sans sugar. I frosted them with a homemade buttercream recipe from this site 'cept I subbed in Splenda. Later on, I realized I'd forgotten the sugar. So if you want a great sugar free recipe, omit the sugar ... but do frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I love them!!! they where so moist and good!!!! they ternd out really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soni's Delights
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just wanted to thank you SO much for posting this recipe. This is the fluffiest, most delicious yellow cake recipe I have made! I have been searching for a good yellow cake recipe for EVER! I didn't have buttermilk so I added 1 tsp of vinegar for each cup of milk and it worked perfectly. I also sifted the dry ingredients several times to ensure fluffiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni's Delights

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States