Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I thought it was a very good cake and very moist. I messed up the first time because I didnt pay attention to the required cake pan size. So I had a little overflow problem in the oven, lol. But regardless of that this is a good cake recipe to follow. Very easy and tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have quite a big dilemma! I just took it out of the oven, and it did not rise at all! Then I realized my mistake! I misread the recipe and put less baking powder then it is written here! Oh, what a big dilemma! I just don't know what to do know! I'm going to frost it with caramel frosting and hope for the best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I work in a restaurant and have started making from scratch desserts and i used this recipe as the starter for a banana sour cream cake. it was fantastic and sold fast. i have made many cakes before but this is the moistest cake i have ever made and it tasted to great to boot. I recommend this recipe to everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
You can abuse this recipe. I changed the buttermilk to reconstituted milk powder and added the juice of half a lemon. Beat the mixture, not mix until combined. Cake science says mix cakes 5 minutes and muffins until blended, that could be the crumb problem. My daughter wanted half yellow and half chocolate cupcakes for school. I scooped 12 yellow then added 2 squares of melted baking chocolate to the remaining batter. I got 2 more dozen cupcakes for a total of 36. I love a recipe that makes more than 24 cupcakes and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I tried this receipe and many others but for some reason I'm always doing something wrong. when I use shortening they come out good until they cool then they are really dry then when I use butter in any receipies they are really heavy and thick not good at all. Can someone tell me what i am doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The batter seemed too thick so I added about about 2 tablespoons more buttermilk. I also make cupcakes with the batter. I set the servings for 16 and it yielded about 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
There is another recipe just like this except that it calls for 2-1/2 teaspoons salt and 4 eggs instead of three. The cake was delicious except it was too salty. Next time I won't use any salt at all as there is enough with the baking poweder and soda. Also, with two 9x13 pans it only took 25 minutes of baking time not the recommended 35-40 minutes. Watch out for this because the layers are not that high and you'll have a dry cake if you bake it too long. Otherwise, this cake is wonderfully light and delicious. I've been searching for this cake recipe for years. All my other butter cake recipes are going into the trash as they are either too dry or too dense. I truly was amazed at how delicious and light this cake was. Not sure what others did that had to throw away the cakes or it resembled cornmeal. I've been baking for a long time and am not sure what they did to get these results. This recipe is definitely a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This cake was wonderful!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy_teaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I make cakes for everyone's birthday in my family, and this is the recipe I always use. They all think it is the best cake ever! I'm not sure why some people say it is like cornmeal, because mine always turns out wonderful! I sometimes add a tsp of butter flavor, but it is terrific without it! Great recipe that I've been using for several years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaWilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Love this cake! Always gets rave reviews, even if I sour milk instead of using buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States