Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Moist yes, but I would agree that it does have a corn bread texture to it. Bland as well...needs a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this cake (cupcakes) tonight and over cooked it- so I thought. I was so bummed about the color and heaviness of the cake. It started out well, the batter tasted amazing. Thought the batter was a bit to thick and the cooked cake was not fluffy and light but almost as dense as a pound cake. THey cooked to fast and overcooked. Next time I would prob cut back on the amount of flour and baking powder. I really loved the buttermilk. Gave the cake an interested taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
mine turned pink to much vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made the cake w/listed ingredients and it was a really moist and delicious cake. I used all purpose flour and had no problem. Made a layer cake and cupcakes. Excellent recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made yellow cake oreo cookie cupcakes! They turned out great! Check out the photos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicnakk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My husband made these for my son's birthday. They were the best cupcakes I have ever tasted!!! UPDATE: I made them this weekend for a tailgate party, but added coarsely crumbled oreos and folded them through before spooning them into cupcake liners. I topped them off with a dolap of stabilized whipped cream frosting. RESULT: AAAAMMMAAAZZZIIINNNGGG!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennelle Cyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Exact flavor and texture of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was a really good recipe, however it's a lot more like a sweet bread than a cake. The flavor and texture, as my husband put it, "is more like that of pumpkin bread, but with vanilla instead of pumpkin". We are still enjoying it...just leaving the icing out because the sweetness of the bread stands on its own. Despite this, I would recommend anyone give it a go..and I'll likely be using this recipe again...though I might add some poppy seeds in. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Wonderful! Loved the texture and the moisture level, great yellow cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByronTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This is one of the better yellow cake recipes out there; however, if you are used to the texture of a boxed cake mix and your cake will not all be consumed at one serving, you might want to try the following: use only 1/2 stick butter and 3/4 c canola oil; use 4 eggs instead of 3; use a finer sugar than usual (you can pulse it in a processor and keep on hand for cake baking); and triple sift the flour. Cakes made with oil are almost always more moist than those made with butter. For new 'scratch' bakers, try halving this recipe the first time out. Once you realize how good cakes from scratch are, it's doubtful you'll go back to mixes. I've gotten to where I can hardly stand it in the cake mix aisle, as I can literally smell all those preservatives! Good luck with your baking adventures. Just don't give up. Baking is more of a science than cooking. Ingredient ratios DO make a difference. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States