Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is the best cake batter for a person that decorates cakes... It is delicate and moist... I have added lemon or orange zest to the last flour mixture; to the last buttermilk addition I add lemon or orange, butter and vanilla flavors...this cake is better made with buttermilk in this climate but have subbed with milk and vinegar for buttermilk; it's okay but not the very best product.... Good cake take time with the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleana Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
It was really good and moist. I will do it again for sure. In between the layers I put some blueberry jam since I did not have enough icing and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
These cupcakes are wonderful. The people that say they are like cornbread must not be mixing them enough. I have a Kitchenaid, which I think makes a difference to start with but I decided to follow the steps of the reviewer Mind W who left a review on Jan 7, 2003. She had a different way of making them and I followed her exactly and they are fluffy and incredibly light! I would also say, use Baker's Sugar by C & H that is fine and I used unsalted butter too. So much better than a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
LOVED IT! I made it with AP flour. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own by adding vinegar to whole milk. I always brush my cakes with a sugar syrup before I decorate and did the same for this cake. Got great feedback....everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday last night, and it was moist and delicious, just as promised! I didn't have 2 9x13 pans so I baked it in an 11x15 for about 38 minutes. This made for a thick, delicious cake. I topped it with buttercream frosting. Yum! This will replace my yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylorfamilyinc
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made a dozen cupcakes that my kids did enjoy once I filled the valley with frosting....so PICK ONE....use only one - baking powder OR baking soda - and then add salt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The texture of the cake was very crumbly, and the flavor lacking. It reminded me more of a cornbread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I tried this for my cousin's 15th birthday. It tasted like cornbread with frosting. NOT A GOOD COMBINATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
'Looks like cornbread. :? Very moist. Maybe 1 more egg would lighten it a little. 'Not heavy, but heavier than most cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Awesome recipe! I decided to use it for cupcakes instead and the cake is light, fluffy, and springs back nicely! This will be my new favorite cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States