Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
They were very moist. We made mini cupcakes for valetine. My 3 year old son had a blast decorating them. Instead of vanilla we used strawberry. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. Very moist and delicious. I had to make some changes to make it wheat and dairy free but overall great recipe. To make it wheat and dairy free I used Bobs Red Mill Gluten free All Purpose Flour instead of regular flour. I had to add 1.5 teaspoons of Xanthum Gum to the flour mixture (not really sure why but it says it on the flour package). To make the buttermilk I used a little less rice milk with 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Margarine instead of butter. I also used Sugar in the Raw instead of white sugar (just because I try to not use white sugar). It turned out great! People loved it and no one realized it was wheat free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aishamo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is great. Thank you. I was looking for a cake recipe that did not call for cake flour; something I could make with what many of us already have in our cupboards. I used regular flour and sifted it three times. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used the 1TBLS + 3/4 tsp of vinegar to the 2 1/2C regular milk and let it sit for 10 minutes. I brought all of my refrigerated ingredients to room temperature. I made cupcakes for my son's birthday and they were great! Very moist, good texture. Tasted better than the box. It is not as sweet and I actually like that because it's a good treat without tons of sugar for the kids. If I were to make it again for adults, I would probably do as one baker suggested and add extra sugar. But, this recipe is great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Use cake flour. I get very annoyed with people who rate recipes without first following them as written. I have made this numerous times using all purpose flour and got rave reviews. I made it last night and decided to try cake flour and it turned out that much better! The texture was a little lighter and tasted like it was purchased from a bakery. I used the quantity of flour listed plus 7 tablespoons extra (per the instructions on that cake flour box). If you only have all purpose flour, I would still highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
There are two kinds of cake textures, fluffy and light (like a box cake), or dense and heavy (like a pound cake). This cake is one that has a dense texture (if you follow the recipe exactly). I make a lot of cakes and in my experience I have found that cakes using buttermilk and baking SODA has a more dense texture,(cornbread texture, not cornbread taste) and cakes using whole or 2% milk and baking POWDER are more fluffier in texture. May I suggest when making a cake that you keep this in mind. It all comes down to YOU! and your preference of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
No problems with this being like cornmeal, as some of the reviewers had said. I did find it a bit too sweet, though. If I use this recipe again I will decrease the sugar to about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
this cake is a great cake i was scared to make it at first cause of the corn bread jokes but i use whole milk and room temperature ingredients and its good u can overpower the cornbread taste if u use a hershey chocolate icing made from stratch this cake is wonderful i will bake it again and again!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Not much more trouble than using a cake mix and tastes a whole lot better. I used self rising flour and added just a pinch of salt and this was a lot easier and took away the possibility of being able to taste the baking powder in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wasn't the best tasting cake. Will continue my search for a good tasting yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Moist, buttery, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States