Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by daytonagirl36
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My go to cake! Not too sweet, have used for cake pops, fondant covered, fruit and of course frosted. Not being too sweet you are not overloaded when covering with other sweets. Sturdy enough to hold fondant (see pic) but holds its own flavor. I got the "cornmeal" comments also but yet those same people paid me to make this cake for their celebrations! When I made cake pops with melted chocolate I was told it tasted like ice cream. I make as directed, always use cake flour and still sift that a few times. Great foundation cake- sturdy for heavy coverings but delicate enough for a whipped cream topping. OMG try with cool whip, pineapple and vanilla pudding mixed as a frosting. It is out of this world. One last thing- I do parties for work and have never brought any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It is moist and delicious! I think it needs a little salt. I made chocolate fudgey frosting and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It's in the oven! I halved the recipe for one cake and hope it works out well. The batter was light and airy and the batter curdled but I'm hoping it'll do well! I also added a teaspoon of maple syrup since I didn't have a lot of vanilla essence or enough for this recipe. I'm planning on icing this with a homemade caramel frosting recipe I came across but haven't tried it yet. Hoping for the best, wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This cake wasnt too bad. Had a cornbread consistency. It also came out a little darker then I expected for a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Everybody including me loved it and without icing. There wasn't time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. I might add a half cup more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I'm not sure what the cornmeal reference is with this recipe. I made this last week as cupcakes, and they were the lightest, softest, most amazing yellow cupcakes I have ever made. Topped with a homemade butter cream frosting, these didn't last long in our house at all! I'm actually making this again tonight as a birthday cake for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Moist, but tastes like cornbread :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is the best cake batter for a person that decorates cakes... It is delicate and moist... I have added lemon or orange zest to the last flour mixture; to the last buttermilk addition I add lemon or orange, butter and vanilla flavors...this cake is better made with buttermilk in this climate but have subbed with milk and vinegar for buttermilk; it's okay but not the very best product.... Good cake take time with the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States