Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was almost like the one my mother made in the 1950's. She simmered 1/2 c. raisens until they were plump, drained the liquid and added them to the recipe. I tried that trick and now I have Mothers recipe. Thanks. Sometimes she would frost with caramel icing, sometimes cream cheese icing or sometimes just lay a paper doiley on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Let me start by saying that I am not a great Baker, however I made this cake for my kids and they loved it. My oldest took one to school and all the kids loved it. I put buttercream icing on it and it was definitely a hit with everyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robtam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
A much easier way to combine the ingredients (especially great if you lack a hand mixer) is to cream the butter and sugar; stir in the milk, eggs, and vanilla; then stir in the dry ingredients, sifted together. Smells like Thanksgiving and goes GREAT with a dollop of COLD, whipped cream! I baked mine in a bundt pan: about 75 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Extremely moist. Big hit with my family-we ate it while decorating our tree! Baked it in a bunt pan and sifted powdered sugar over the top and it turned out lovely. Very old-fashion-Christmas looking. It is important to follow the directions exactly or else you won't get the moist, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I had absolutely no problem with this recipe; the cake turned out fantastic. It was SO moist and SO flavorful. Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Spice cake is one of my favorite American cakes, and having lived in England for the past year and a half, I really appreciate being able to make a cake that really brings me back home. I made this particular cake for my British in-laws at Thanksgiving last year. It was a huge hit with my husband's family, so a few weeks ago I made it again in cupcake form for my co-workers. It is so warm and moist, and British buttercream icing really complements it well. The cupcakes kept for over a week, and they weren't even tightly covered--just a bit of foil draped over them! This recipe has turned out beautifully every time I've made it. This is a permanent addition to my recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Although this was the first cake I'd ever tried to make, I found the instructions very easy to follow and had no problems during baking. I've served it on two seperate occasions and it's always been devoured very, very quickly. I definitrly recommend it to first-time bakers, or anyone with a love of spice cake in general. Try adding 1/2 cup of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My husband has been asking for spice cake for some time now...he said this was great! I did everything as the recipe called for, except I added some confectioner's frosting after it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONNIE456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Robinson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made a rich caramel sauce to spoon over this and the final product is absolutely wonderful!!! The only thing missings is a really good quality french vanilla ice cream and a rich cup of freshly brewed coffee. I added a cup of raisins that I had soaked in hot water and I also followed a more traditional cake technique of creaming the sugar with the butter (or margarine... which I used), and then adding the eggs and vanilla. I added the combined dry ingredients to the sugar/margarine, and then stirred in my milk and raisins. Absolutely perfect!! A definite keeper of a recipe and one well worth serving to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Soft and delicious. Great Spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States