Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
A much easier way to combine the ingredients (especially great if you lack a hand mixer) is to cream the butter and sugar; stir in the milk, eggs, and vanilla; then stir in the dry ingredients, sifted together. Smells like Thanksgiving and goes GREAT with a dollop of COLD, whipped cream! I baked mine in a bundt pan: about 75 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was almost like the one my mother made in the 1950's. She simmered 1/2 c. raisens until they were plump, drained the liquid and added them to the recipe. I tried that trick and now I have Mothers recipe. Thanks. Sometimes she would frost with caramel icing, sometimes cream cheese icing or sometimes just lay a paper doiley on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is without a doubt the best spice cake I've ever made. The spices used are perfect and no one spice overwhelms anything else. It is moist and absolutely delicious. I bake mine in a stoneware fluted pan just because it looks pretty so I have to adjust cooking times~ 50 minutes in the oven and it is done perfectly. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site to top it with. That frosting complements this cake perfectly. I double the frosting because you do get quite a large cake and just because it tastes divine! Thank you. *EDIT* I forgot to add that I've seen quite a few complaints about mixing this recipe. What I do with ALL my cakes is keep the wet and dry ingredients separate. For this cake, I beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, added the rest of the wet ingredients one at a time while slowly beating to blend. In another bowl I sifted all the dry ingredients together then added them slowly to the wet bowl and mixed it together by hand with a wooden spoon. Never fails! I give it 4 stars because I did have to make these changes and I'm sure that new cooks don't know that keeping the wet and dry separate for a cake is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Extremely moist. Big hit with my family-we ate it while decorating our tree! Baked it in a bunt pan and sifted powdered sugar over the top and it turned out lovely. Very old-fashion-Christmas looking. It is important to follow the directions exactly or else you won't get the moist, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made a rich caramel sauce to spoon over this and the final product is absolutely wonderful!!! The only thing missings is a really good quality french vanilla ice cream and a rich cup of freshly brewed coffee. I added a cup of raisins that I had soaked in hot water and I also followed a more traditional cake technique of creaming the sugar with the butter (or margarine... which I used), and then adding the eggs and vanilla. I added the combined dry ingredients to the sugar/margarine, and then stirred in my milk and raisins. Absolutely perfect!! A definite keeper of a recipe and one well worth serving to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
First of all, I want to say that the flavor of the spices was wonderful -- absolutely the best combination and amounts I've ever tasted in a spice cake. I only gave this 3 stars though due to the method and the fact that I felt it lacked some things, such as raisins and nuts. I read through the entire recipe and was shocked at the instructions on how to put it together. I stuck with my "tried and true" method where I mixed the all dry ingredients together first, then I creamed the butter and sugar, added the eggs one at a time mixing well after each, added the vanilla and then added the dry ingredients varying with the milk -- dry/milk/dry/milk/dry. I also plumped 1/4 cup golden raisins and 1/4 cup regular raisins and toasted 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and stirred that in after mixing everything else. I served this as the Grooms' cake for my sons wedding today and it was a big hit. Very moist, but still held together. I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent spice cake, but stick to the "normal" method of mixing the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this but trying to get away from white flour i used all wheat.My bad it made it to dry and very dense. The flavor was there and good but i should have used white wheat flour not just whole wheat will try again with diff flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayer, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Although this was the first cake I'd ever tried to make, I found the instructions very easy to follow and had no problems during baking. I've served it on two seperate occasions and it's always been devoured very, very quickly. I definitrly recommend it to first-time bakers, or anyone with a love of spice cake in general. Try adding 1/2 cup of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I had absolutely no problem with this recipe; the cake turned out fantastic. It was SO moist and SO flavorful. Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It was very good. The steps were a bit complicated but I followed them exactly and the batter was perfect. I made this for a Breakfast Cake. Next time I think I will make Muffins in my cupcake maker. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States