Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The taste of this cake is lovely (I used cream cheese frosting), and I will definitely be trying it again. However, it came out slightly dry for me, even though I followed the directions to a T (unless it was because I used unbleached flour) I've never made a spice cake before, so I was a little worried when the batter was extremely thick and sticky - not sure if that's normal or if I did something wrong. Also, the cake is pretty thick, so next time I will split the batter into 2 pans. That way, I can share it with more people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
i made this cake and it ws great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made exactly to the recipe, except for a tiny mistake. Stop mixing when the mix looks like tiny pebbles, I kept beating until it turned into a thick paste. I think this may have compromised my moistness and texture. But it was still good andnext time I might add some more spices. I frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting I, which is delicious but a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is without a doubt the best spice cake I've ever made. The spices used are perfect and no one spice overwhelms anything else. It is moist and absolutely delicious. I bake mine in a stoneware fluted pan just because it looks pretty so I have to adjust cooking times~ 50 minutes in the oven and it is done perfectly. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site to top it with. That frosting complements this cake perfectly. I double the frosting because you do get quite a large cake and just because it tastes divine! Thank you. *EDIT* I forgot to add that I've seen quite a few complaints about mixing this recipe. What I do with ALL my cakes is keep the wet and dry ingredients separate. For this cake, I beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, added the rest of the wet ingredients one at a time while slowly beating to blend. In another bowl I sifted all the dry ingredients together then added them slowly to the wet bowl and mixed it together by hand with a wooden spoon. Never fails! I give it 4 stars because I did have to make these changes and I'm sure that new cooks don't know that keeping the wet and dry separate for a cake is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This cake is amazing, and so moist. I added pumpkin spice pudding, and a cream cheese w/ walnut spread as filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this cake (using a few tablesppons of applesauce, like others recommended) and when cake was done, and I put it on the cooling rack, it fell apart! the flavor was good but it was too moist and I was so disappointed that it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is the best spice cake that I have every tried. I did use the other suggestions and used 1/2 cup applesauce. I creamed the applesause, the butter and the sugar all together then sifted all the dry ingredients together. I used the suggestion to add the eggs to the milk and then added the dry to the creamed mixture alternating with the milk mixture. Very easy! The cake was moist and flavorful. I served it with fresh whipped cream and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I decided to use this recipe after much searching for a decent spice cake recipe with what I had in house. I followed the recipe as written. Although the flavors are great, the spices work wonderfully, none too overpowering, my cake was not as moist as I had hoped. I too had the issue that a few mentioned, the thick dough clogging my mixers. I used the method described in the recipe as apposed to the traditional method in the hopes that this would prevent and over mixed cake. However once all the ingredients were in, it did pour fine. This one needs some tweaking, I'm thinking the 1/2 c. of applesauce that one mentioned would do the trick. Till then I'm still on the hunt for that "just right" spice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_jama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The taste on this cake is very good, different. It was however very dry and it crumbled and cracked on the cooling rack. I wasn't able to use this for my sons birthday and had to make another cake. The quest is still on for the perfect spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was a near disaster for me. For starters, the batter was so thick and dough-like that my mixer stopped working. I couldn't even get the dark brown sugar worked in. I added an extra egg and some more milk than called for because otherwise the dough would've been a rock. Once I added the milk and egg it turned into the consistency of regular cake batter. The cake turned out good, but it could've used just a little more spice flavor. I probably should've added more spice after adding the additional egg and milk. The consistency was also not as moist as I had hoped. I would give the flavor of the cake 3.5/5 (good) but I took away a star for the prep. I followed the directions perfectly, so I"m still not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States