Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I agree with Kitchee, this cake's spice blend was perfect! No one spice overpowered the others, fantastic cake! I made it exactly as the recipe called for, including the mixing directions. It was a different way to make a cake then I am used to so I would encourage you to read the directions before you start. Our cake came out moist, flavorful and was a great success! Thank you Pam for giving me a new spice cake go-to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very tasty spice cake!!! Instead of 1 cup of butter, I used a low-fat butter spread, and since it has salt in it, I skipped the salt. I also used egg subsitute instead of egg, and only one cup of brown sugar, and a tiny bit of stevia. It was delicious. I shared it with my neighbors and recommend this recipe!!! Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It was very good. The steps were a bit complicated but I followed them exactly and the batter was perfect. I made this for a Breakfast Cake. Next time I think I will make Muffins in my cupcake maker. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I had to make it twice because the recipe didn't say to cream the brown sugar with anything and it was all lumpy. The second time it was dry and hard. The one positive is the spice combination rocked so I am going to try other recipes and use this spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The taste of this cake is lovely (I used cream cheese frosting), and I will definitely be trying it again. However, it came out slightly dry for me, even though I followed the directions to a T (unless it was because I used unbleached flour) I've never made a spice cake before, so I was a little worried when the batter was extremely thick and sticky - not sure if that's normal or if I did something wrong. Also, the cake is pretty thick, so next time I will split the batter into 2 pans. That way, I can share it with more people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
i made this cake and it ws great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made exactly to the recipe, except for a tiny mistake. Stop mixing when the mix looks like tiny pebbles, I kept beating until it turned into a thick paste. I think this may have compromised my moistness and texture. But it was still good andnext time I might add some more spices. I frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting I, which is delicious but a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is without a doubt the best spice cake I've ever made. The spices used are perfect and no one spice overwhelms anything else. It is moist and absolutely delicious. I bake mine in a stoneware fluted pan just because it looks pretty so I have to adjust cooking times~ 50 minutes in the oven and it is done perfectly. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site to top it with. That frosting complements this cake perfectly. I double the frosting because you do get quite a large cake and just because it tastes divine! Thank you. *EDIT* I forgot to add that I've seen quite a few complaints about mixing this recipe. What I do with ALL my cakes is keep the wet and dry ingredients separate. For this cake, I beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, added the rest of the wet ingredients one at a time while slowly beating to blend. In another bowl I sifted all the dry ingredients together then added them slowly to the wet bowl and mixed it together by hand with a wooden spoon. Never fails! I give it 4 stars because I did have to make these changes and I'm sure that new cooks don't know that keeping the wet and dry separate for a cake is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This cake is amazing, and so moist. I added pumpkin spice pudding, and a cream cheese w/ walnut spread as filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this cake (using a few tablesppons of applesauce, like others recommended) and when cake was done, and I put it on the cooling rack, it fell apart! the flavor was good but it was too moist and I was so disappointed that it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States