Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this exactly as directed and it turned out great! I would definitely add nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yes, the instructions are unusual! Despite making 100s of cakes in the past, I followed the strange recipe. Should have just gone with my gut and creamed the wet ingredients and butter and slowly add in the wet. The taste of the cake was just okay. It didn't taste very moist. I cooked the cake in 2 nine inch pans for 29 mins. I wont make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This cake turned out super moist and delicious..the spices come together perfectly. I added chopped almonds and 1/2 c of oats and a caramel glaze on top, definite crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious. Very moist. Sure it will be a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Amazing! I love spice cake and this was great! Instead of 1 cup of butter, I used one stick (1/2 cup) and 1/2 of applesauce. I don't like ginger so I did not include it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
If I could give this recipe a 0, I would. I am a good baker. In fact, I worked at a high end restaurant as a baker for a couple years. I have never had a recipe go so badly as this one. This is the first time I've even bothered to rate/review a recipe on here. The first attempt at the cake, the batter split. I have no idea how that happened. One second it was good, the next it was split and I had to toss it. Second attempt... this is just a BAD recipe. This is *NOT* how you make cake batter... it is very strange. The batter was extremely thick but I baked it anyways. I let the cakes sit for about 10 mins after coming out of the oven and then turned one over. The cake immediately fell apart... I tried to piece it back together but it all kept crumbling. Worst cake texture ever. Since this pile of cake was ruined, I tasted it. It tastes okay but it is very sticky... it sticks to the roof of your mouth and has a raw flour taste (probably from the large amount of corn starch and baking powder, I would guess). Anyways, I suggest moving on to a different recipes. This was just a plain disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
To much clove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsbestfriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
very good! I followed it just like they said, except that I added a little more cinnamon b/c I love cinnamon. Will probably make again b/c my hubbie loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I creamed the butter and sugar together then mixed in 1/3 of dry, sifted ingredients with 1/2 wet ingredients, then 1/3 dry, 1/2 wet and 1/3 dry - worked perfectly! I picked that tip from Anna Olsen tv show 'Sugar' on Food Network. Delicious cake, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work_it_girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashington, Northumberland, England, U.K.
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The flavor is perfect, but the consistency is not. My cake broke into pieces when trying to remove it from the greased and floured pan - it stuck to the bottom anyway. I tried to slice it out of the pan and got some slices but mostly crumbles. Don't know how I'm going to frost it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States