Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by dvargas76
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This recipe was absolutely perfect the way it was. I did not try the alterations suggested by other reviewers and so glad that I didn't. The cake was absolutely perfect the way it was and only needed a dusting of confectioner's sugar to complete it. The cake reminds me very much of old fashioned ginger cake that we make at Rocky Mount, TN Living History Museum. Sure, alterations would probably go very well with it, but sometimes simplicity takes the cake. Punny intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvargas76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Weirdest recipe ever. I knew it didn't seem right to do the steps in the order listed but I followed the recipe to a T. The batter was so thick it made my mixer smoke and I followed the steps adding 1/3 at a time. Anyways the flavor is GREAT. The only reason I am giving it 3 stars, but the cake came out a crumbly mess and was done after only 33 minutes. I won't use this recipe again but I will make note of the spices used. Hoping the frosting holds the cake together enough to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This recipe needed a lot of alteration to make it work. Chiefly, it was far too dry as batter. I added 2/3 cup of sour cream for moisture retention and an extra half cup of half-and-half cream (totaling 1.5 cups half and half, instead of milk). I baked it at 325F instead of 350 and lined my baking tins fully (sides and bottom) with parchment/greaseproof paper. If you are baking this in one pan, 350 is far too hot unless you cover it for most of the baking time. It will catch the edges far before the middle bakes through. If you are using two 9" pans, it seems to work better, but still, 325 was safer rather than 350. The sides were well baked before the center was, even at a lower temperature. 3 tsp of baking soda was more than enough; it started to taste metallic, so I didn't go up to 4. Also, don't wait until the last minute to mix your brown sugar; you need the agitation to remove any clumps of sugar and that will make the flour glutenous (tough and dry) if you wait until the last step. Cream the sugar with the butter until it lightens in color (whiped air into it) so there is air in your batter for a good rise and even bubble pockets. The directions on this recipe are the "biscuit" method of mixing, which yields crumbly baked goods with large air pockets and dense clusters. With 50% more liquid and 2/3c sour cream, it was about as moist as a box mix ever is. I can understand why this would have gone crumbly if you followed the directions exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
The name of this cake lies ... this was THE most dry cake I have ever eaten. The spice mix was good, but it was so dry that it just crumbled. Aside from the odd way of combining the ingredients, there is way to much flour, cornstarch, and baking powder. If I were to make this again, which I won't I would only use 2 cups of flour, no corn starch and half the amount of baking powder. The batter is stiff and the cake doesn't rise much. I gave an extra star for the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA
Living In: Taylor Mill, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This cake came out flat and barely spiced, disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gizo101
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very delicious and moist cake. I like the fact that it's plain so you could touch it up if you want. The way of mixing the ingredients is strange but it works and it makes lovely results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizo101

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This spice cake is delicious & moist! Yeah the method is unconventional so I ignored it & used the traditional cake method. But that's no reason to down rate the recipe, especially if you know ahead of time that you're just going to make it your way & not the way that's stated. I can't speak for others, but when I search for a recipe it is because I wish to find a combination of ingredients & the amount of those ingredients so I can make something that tastes good. I made this as listed for a 2 layer birthday cake for someone who requested a spice cake, as it is her favorite. She loved it so I was happy. Plus, I loved it too when I had a piece. The only thing I would do different next time is use less ginger but that's b/c I'm not crazy about ginger. And next time is tomorrow when I make this for a birthday cake for my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I ended up throwing out the entire cake. I am an intermediate level baker- so I did cream the butter and sugar together with the egg mixture but the cake was so dry, I was not able to get it out of the pan in one piece. The spice combination was quite lovely but the batter mixture is very dense and the final product tastes more like flour than the spices. I used a 9x13- there is way too much batter for just one 9x13. If I were to make this cake again (which I probably will not) I would reduce the flour by 1/2 cup and use a bundt pan for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I added the applesauce and kept the dry/wet ingredients separate until the end, as recommended in the reviews, and the cake was moist and not crumbly. HOWEVER, I did expect more of a light and fluffy spice cake, which is not what this is. The cake must have weighed 5 lbs when it was done! It is a dense, dense, dense cake, and the heaviness of it takes away from any flavor. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Awesome recipe! didn't made any changes at all. Tasty, fluffy yummy cake, my daughter used it for a baptism cake....we all went speechless. Thanks for the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States