Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this cake twice in one day. First time I followed the recipe exactly except I forget to add the baking powder to the dry ingredients, so I added it to the completed batter. After that one finished baking, I made another and this time read the reviews. I followed the standard cake formula this time (cream, then alternate wet and dry) and adjusted the spices a touch (1 1/2 t. ginger, scant 1/2 t. nutmeg, rounded 1/2 t. allspice.) I didn't add the applesauce because it seemed plenty moist. Both had the scratch cake texture with a significant crumb, although the second was finer. I never take a 9 x 13 cake out of the pan, so I didn't get the cracking that others did. I topped both cakes with one recipe of Scrumptious Penuche Frosting (from this site). I prefer the standard preparation method. As written was innovative, but like other reviewers, I got pockets of brown sugar. Because that one had already been relegated for home consumption, that didn't bother me much. Both cakes had a slight depression in the center, possibly from checking doneness too early (although at the listed time.) The spice mix of the first cake mellowed overnight, so I am not certain it needed changing. Tasty cake. I won't get rid of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I decided too make it an upsidedown cake, I had canned pears and peaches...melted 1stick butter, added one cup dark brown sugar, poured that mixture into the pan lined up the fruit in that put the cake on top...bake, no frosting but a nice sweet topper. I'll put a picture up later. Whipped cream on top...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linly Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is a keeper. I have tried a lot of scratch spice cakes but this is the best. It's a moist, dense cake and with cream cheese frosting it's delightful. I only make half a recipe for the two of us, in a 9x9 pan and bake about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Cooked it in a round releasable cake tin- when I went to release the cake it split up the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Yummy flavor, def. opportunities to increase the spice flavor. I did add a little extra of all spices. Moist cake, cooking time is right on. I made cream cheese frosting and it was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cake got rave reviews from all of our dinner guests - used the exact recipe amounts as stated but followed a more traditional method for combining them. I baked for 45 minutes in a bundt pan and it turned out perfectly! A delicious thin crunchy crust and very soft in the middle. Loved the spice combination! I served it dusted with powdered sugar and topped with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was such a hit at a barbeque picnic I went to a couple of weeks ago. My friends could not stop reacting in ecstasy! LOL! Many said it was the best cake they've ever had. I was extremely impressed as well. I did tweak it a bit; I added a 1/2 cup of applesauce like some commenters did, and used the traditional creaming method for cakes. I also added some cardamom; I have a huge jar of it and need to use it! I also used Earth Balance spread instead of butter(me and a friend have issues with dairy).I frosted it with a maple buttercream, also using Earth Balance and real maple syrup, and sprinkled it with chopped pecans. YUM! In fact a couple of friends demanded I make it for Thanksgiving. 'Oh twist my arm".....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Michael Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this cake as cupcakes and it turned out great! My differences: doubled cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg; did not use ginger or cloves. I used the usual creaming method when mixing. They came out nice and moist and held together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McMorrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Not so moist. I made this twice as I thought I must have messed up the first time. Both times the batter was very thick and did not pour into the pan..it was close to cookie dough not cake batter. Tasted good but very dry and crumbly. Maybe the wet to dry ratios.need.adjusting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This turned out to be one of the worst cakes I've ever made. It was too easy to over-beat the batter, which caused it to not rise. And adding in the brown sugar last led to pockets where the sugar stuck together and created brown sugar craters. I wasn't crazy about the flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States