Moist, Tender Spice Cake: Gingerbread Variation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
We love gingerbread with a full and spicy flavor. This certainly is both of those. The only thing I changed was to add a 1/2 cup of applesauce to the batter. It smoothed the spices a bit and made it even more moist. I served it with a Kentucky Bourbon reduction (hard sauce) and it was fantastic. The kids loved theirs with Cool Whip. We'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Loved this with a light vanilla cream sauce. I replaced 1/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is fabulous! I split the batter into two bread pans and baked for 45 minutes. Light and fluffy without skimping on flavor. I will definitely make it again. Next time I will use a larger measuring cup to mix the wet ingredients...I had an overflow situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I thought this recipe was just ok. It has a slightly strange taste to me and I think it has to do with the spices. I think I should have used less ginger and added some cloves and nutmeg. I made the cake in two loaf pans and baked them for 50 minutes. They didn't rise very much and once I cut into the cake, it dried out very quickly. I frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting and that really improved it. Next time I make gingerbread, I will probably try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated with the exception of using light brown sugar rather than dark (because that's all I had). The cake was dry and tasteless. I doubled checked my ingredients to be sure because of all the marveleous reviews the recipe had gotten. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great with cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Moist and delicious. Hubby, who almost never eats cake, took a bite and ended up cutting himself a nice big slice. Made cream cheese frosting which complimented the cake very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I baked it in the alternate method of two 8x8 pans. I frosted one with cream cheese frosting and left the other plain. I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour and brown sugar Splenda for the sugar. So moist, spicy and delicious!! A real hit with the whole family! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I loved this and it recieved great reviews from family anf friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful - I offered it as a second dessert for thanksgiving with whipped cream and a little orange sauce as optional toppings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States