Moist, Tender Spice Cake: Gingerbread Variation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated with the exception of using light brown sugar rather than dark (because that's all I had). The cake was dry and tasteless. I doubled checked my ingredients to be sure because of all the marveleous reviews the recipe had gotten. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good in loaf pans, the recipe made two and I had to up the bake time to about 50 minutes. Didn't have any allspice so I used pumpkin pie spice in equal measure plus a sprinkle of ground clove. Delicious uniced for breakfast or frosted with cream cheese icing for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This gingerbread spice cake was wonderful! I didn't make any changes to the recipe, and followed it to a "T". It came out tender and moist, not crumbly or dry. The flavor was perfect. After cooling it completely, I served it with a lemon sauce. My family raved about it, and everyone wanted seconds. Thanks for a delicious recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was wonderful! I am not a huge gingerbread fan, but this was delicious. I just finished it with a dusting of confectioners' sugar. It would be delicious served ala mode with vanilla ice cream, or a dollop of whipped cream. We are vegans so I had to "veganize" it and it still came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bixer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My family loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I really did not care for the flavor of this cake. It did not taste like spice cake to me. I had intended to bring it to a ladie's function for the desert and I was glad I tried it ahead of time. I wanted it to be fabulous but it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this for my fiance's luncheon for work. I used a 10 inch bundt pan instead of a 9x13 inch flat. I increased the cook time to 60 minutes to compensate for the change. This went over fairly well with her workmates. I gave it a 4 because she usually comes home with recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful - I offered it as a second dessert for thanksgiving with whipped cream and a little orange sauce as optional toppings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Loved this with a light vanilla cream sauce. I replaced 1/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Loved this recipe! My hubby loves gingerbread, and he loved this! Thank you for sharing this recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States