Moist, Tender Spice Cake: Gingerbread Variation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by darkprincess425
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I like odd tastes, but should have used less molasses. It overpowered this cake, even though I used a bit more ginger and a bit of nutmeg as well. I also subbed additional flour for the cornstarch. Not very moist, but not too dry. Again, if I liked traditional tastes better I probably would not have liked this cake at all, but I made the Cream Cheese Icing II and that redeemed it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darkprincess425

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Even though I cut back on the ginger and added nutmeg, there was a sort of odd flavor that other reviewers commented on. I'm wondering if it's the combination of butter and cornstarch. I've never seen cornstarch like this in a baking recipe, and I think my old standby recipe called for oil. I think I'll keep looking for a better gingerbread, and get rid of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
1st-This is not a recipe I would make for myself, as I didn't like the outcome. 2nd - This recipe is for some of my elder friends from down south (the poor south) and they absolutely love it! I made changes to the amount of ginger I used. Other than that no changes. As I stated, My Elder Friends Love It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Yum ! I used the caluculator and recalculated this recipe to 27 servings and it made 1 Nordic bundt cake plus 6 wilton mini bundt cakes the only thing different in my caluculation/recipe was to increase the recalc. from 1 2/3 milk to 2 cups of milk and I used the blender to tork up the batter for a perfect blend. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I thought this recipe was great.I topped it with a fresh pear and caramel sauce . Great for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I love gingerbread, and was really looking forward to this cake. It was moist but not very flavorful, and very heavy. (I did not frost it, and everyone kept saying "this would be good if it had some cream cheese frosting.") It also takes a LOT of ingredients, and I was really disappointed with the result. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made no changes to the recipe. A little too much molasses for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I split the recipe into 5 mini loaf pans. I divided it evenly and probably should have used 6 mini loaf pans as the batter spilled over. Silver lining is that I got a bowl full of gingerbread "droppings" for myself, as all the loaves were to give away. :) I will definitely try the sheet cake method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I thought this recipe was just ok. It has a slightly strange taste to me and I think it has to do with the spices. I think I should have used less ginger and added some cloves and nutmeg. I made the cake in two loaf pans and baked them for 50 minutes. They didn't rise very much and once I cut into the cake, it dried out very quickly. I frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting and that really improved it. Next time I make gingerbread, I will probably try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My son and his bride wanted a gingerbread cake for their wedding cake, so I tried this recipe. Wonderful choice! Very moist, full of flavor and everyone loved it. I made it with a lemon curd filling, frosted with whipped cream buttercream frosting and covered with marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breezewood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stephens City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States