Moist Persimmon Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We only recently tried Persimmons (raw) and liked them a lot. Then we found this recipe. I have two children, and all of us really like these cookies. My daughter described it as a soft gingerbread cookie with fruit inside. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Pretty good. Reminds me of a pumpkin bread, but in a cookie. The raisins and nuts are a must. Would probably taste even better with an orange glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good cookies, but I thought the cloves overpowered everything. I will make again, but halve the cloves. I also liked another reviewer's suggestion of using part brown sugar and adding vanilla. I'll try those changes next time as well. Very moist, very satisfying cookie. I used half butter/half applesauce and replaced half the flour with buckwheat flour (for the nutrition and because I needed to use it up), and that seemed to work very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I gave this 3stars because I may have messed this up. I put vanilla in other than that I followed the recipe perfectly. My cookies were not nice looking at all, I can't imagine making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a moist, flavorful cookie. I absolutely love the spices! They are cake-like and delicious! I changed a few things such as: using butter instead of shortening. (Coconut oil would be a great healthy substitute.) I replaced the sugar with sucanat and the flour for whole wheat flour. They turned out very well (see my picture) and they weren't flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I just can't decide whether I like persimmons. These were enjoyable, but I don't know that I'd make them again unless someone gave me some persimmons. Mine did not spread like in the photo, so they looked kind of clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Here in Japan, persimmons (kaki) are quite popular and there's quite a surplus. So I surprised my co-workers and friends with these and they were amazed. However, I used half brown sugar, added vanilla extract, extra cinnamon, no nuts, and in a few I experimented with making chocolate swirls. These cookies are a bit on the cakey side, but a nice way to utilize such a good fruit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Made with persimmons from the back yard, these cookies are awesome!! Taste kind of like a ginger snap, very yummy and soft. Might be good iced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILOVEMINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe has been in my family for over 70 years now. I love it and make it every year when the persimmons are ripe. We have our own tree just so I can make these cookie. I freeze in packets so I can have them all year long. Everyone I serve them to loves them. So glad someone else had the same recipe and was willing to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States