Moist Persimmon Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We only recently tried Persimmons (raw) and liked them a lot. Then we found this recipe. I have two children, and all of us really like these cookies. My daughter described it as a soft gingerbread cookie with fruit inside. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Pretty good. Reminds me of a pumpkin bread, but in a cookie. The raisins and nuts are a must. Would probably taste even better with an orange glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good cookies, but I thought the cloves overpowered everything. I will make again, but halve the cloves. I also liked another reviewer's suggestion of using part brown sugar and adding vanilla. I'll try those changes next time as well. Very moist, very satisfying cookie. I used half butter/half applesauce and replaced half the flour with buckwheat flour (for the nutrition and because I needed to use it up), and that seemed to work very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I gave this 3stars because I may have messed this up. I put vanilla in other than that I followed the recipe perfectly. My cookies were not nice looking at all, I can't imagine making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a moist, flavorful cookie. I absolutely love the spices! They are cake-like and delicious! I changed a few things such as: using butter instead of shortening. (Coconut oil would be a great healthy substitute.) I replaced the sugar with sucanat and the flour for whole wheat flour. They turned out very well (see my picture) and they weren't flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I just can't decide whether I like persimmons. These were enjoyable, but I don't know that I'd make them again unless someone gave me some persimmons. Mine did not spread like in the photo, so they looked kind of clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. H. Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Here in Japan, persimmons (kaki) are quite popular and there's quite a surplus. So I surprised my co-workers and friends with these and they were amazed. However, I used half brown sugar, added vanilla extract, extra cinnamon, no nuts, and in a few I experimented with making chocolate swirls. These cookies are a bit on the cakey side, but a nice way to utilize such a good fruit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Made with persimmons from the back yard, these cookies are awesome!! Taste kind of like a ginger snap, very yummy and soft. Might be good iced as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILOVEMINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe has been in my family for over 70 years now. I love it and make it every year when the persimmons are ripe. We have our own tree just so I can make these cookie. I freeze in packets so I can have them all year long. Everyone I serve them to loves them. So glad someone else had the same recipe and was willing to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States