Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
The lemon "glaze" is way too tart, and the cake is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Fluhr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very lemony delicious would make it many times I did not have butter milk so I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I didn't find it moist nor did the picture represent what the cake looked like. Mine, too, burned and ended up turning down the oven to 320 to finish it off - about the last 25 mins. It's dense and in my opinion dry. I was looking for a moist and fluffy lemon cake and this didn't work for me. I followed the recipe exactly as written and even invested in cake flour and blended one egg at a time. Moving on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The cake came out gummy and thic. It's way too heavy; there's no baking powder to make it rise. I was very disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This turned out very dense, and not in a rich buttery way. the top and sides were pretty good because they absorbed most of the lemon+sugar syrup, but the center was bland and dry. Nobody at my office could eat more than half a slice. There are much better lemon poppyseed pound cakes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
It was good yet I would probably do a little less lemon syrup at the end.......other then that yes i would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
so nice and easy to make, big hit with my guests. Also a great birthday cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe was simple to follow. The finished product was easy to work with for muffin pans. After the first batch I did make a few changes because it was not lemony enough for me personally, but the flavor was just fine. I made the recipe to serve 12 people and I was able to make 2 ½ dozen beautiful muffins. My changes made it more lemony/sour and I loved it! I added about 2 TBS of lemon juice with pulp and about ½ TBS of extra lemon Zest to the mix and I only added ½ the recommended poppy seeds. With the syrup part of the recipe I added the pulp and added the left over butter from the mix recipe. (About 2tbs) This made it easier for me to work with for the muffins since it was thicker. While baking during the last 10 minutes I brushed the syrup on the muffins without poking them. I brushed them at 10 minutes, 5 minutes and then when they came out of the oven. When all was done I “dunked the muffins” both top and bottom into the leftover syrup and then lightly sprinkled a pinch of sugar over the top. The Kids loved them. Just be warned if you follow my modifications they are tart. On a side note: I used Wilton 6 cup King Size Muffin Pan and a number 12 Ice Cream Scoop. (You can find this at any of your restraint supply shops, they are must have)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
The syrup made the cake a bit sour. I have to add a liberal sprinkling of powdered sugar to each slice to make it more palatable. Didn't notice the the recipe note beforehand that cake is supposed to sit a day before serving. Took a bite right after I took it out of the pan and it was awful. Improved within 2 hours, and was much better the next day. Next time I think I'll use maybe half as much syrup. Not sure why other reviewers think cake was too dry...mine was practically soggy before the syrup fully set in, and has stayed very moist. I used fresh lemon for the juice and zest because my mom said it would taste better/stronger (I had originally planned on using bottled juice and substituting something for the zest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Not moist and we ended up pouring out butter which was bubbling over the pan. Taste wise....no one enjoyed it. Very difficult to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States