Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I am not a fan of lemon cake, but made this for a friend, this was the best lemon poppy seed cake I have ever eaten. It was moist, delicious, awesome. The friend I made it for and I thought it was perfect, but some other ppl who tried it thought it was too lemony, so you could cut the top glaze to 1/2 sugar and lemon juice. Overall it was GREAT.... will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very lemony delicious would make it many times I did not have butter milk so I made my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I altered the recipe for cupcakes. Made a little bit more syrup and they were amazing! They were moist and perfect, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
so nice and easy to make, big hit with my guests. Also a great birthday cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was exactly the lemon poppy seed cake I've been looking for. I like the pound cake texture, never had a light fluffy lemon poppy seed cake, just pound cake textured. I used the lemon juice from the lemon I zested and the rest bottled. Next time I will use all fresh squeezed. I also only used 4 eggs because we use jumbo. You definitely have to wrap this, refrigerate and rotate so the syrup works it's way through the entire loaf. I put this out at work and it was gone in the blink of an eye. Thank you for a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I love this cake and so do the people at my husbands job. Every time he has a carry-in, they ask him if I can make this cake for their dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! The result is a very dense, moist, and somewhat tart cake. It's exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very delicious recipe!!! My hubby and toddler keeps asking me to do it more often. once you start doing it twice or so, it gets so quick and easy (like 10 min to prep)... good stuff!!! thnks so much for this amazingly delicious recipe!!!! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Fab recipe - thanks so much for sharing it! One of those 'will never fail you' recipes - if you don't have enough poppy seeds, lemon peel, lemon juice etc, it will still come out fine. I have made this many many times and have never once had a problem with it. No it's not gonna win a cake competition any time soon but as a stand alone timeless classic it works just fine. If you want to make them as muffins fill 14 muffin paper cases with the above measures and bake at 200 degrees Celcius for about 20 mins for fluffy light muffins. Then I make a lemon drizzle type topping out of icing sugar and the juice of 3 lemons which gives extra flavour & keeps them moist for a couple of days. The cases can sometimes end up a little greasy so I like to wait to they've cooled then pop them inside another case when offering to friends etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zivatony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is the BEST cake I have had for a long time. I absolutely luv orange poppyseed cake, one of my fave's, but only because store bought versions are never lemon!! (why is this?) I went by the recipe simply because I do not bake very often and have never attempted a cake like this. I had to go and buy a loaf tin! I shared with family and friends and everyone agreed it is scrummy!! I will definitely make it again. The only thing I will do differently is make holes in the middle of the cake bigger for more syrup to get in. The lemony syrup seeped into sides and the top/bottom of cake fine, but the middle missed out a tad. I kept some of this cake in the freezer too and cut and ate it straight away. Tried toasting a piece as suggested too - also delicious. As you can tell, this cake completely won me over!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States