Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Good cake but thought it could use some work. My husband and I found it to be a bit too lemony. With so many eggs, I should have known before making it that it would be like a pound cake in taste and texture. Next time I make this I will skip the lemon zest and lemon syrup and just use almond extract. I thought the syrup made it a little mushy in texture instead of moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was exactly the lemon poppy seed cake I've been looking for. I like the pound cake texture, never had a light fluffy lemon poppy seed cake, just pound cake textured. I used the lemon juice from the lemon I zested and the rest bottled. Next time I will use all fresh squeezed. I also only used 4 eggs because we use jumbo. You definitely have to wrap this, refrigerate and rotate so the syrup works it's way through the entire loaf. I put this out at work and it was gone in the blink of an eye. Thank you for a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Good taste but I prefer a lighter, fluffier texture. This definitely has the consistency of a pound cake--thick. I think that the lemon syrup can be omitted as well. Does not add much to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Fab recipe - thanks so much for sharing it! One of those 'will never fail you' recipes - if you don't have enough poppy seeds, lemon peel, lemon juice etc, it will still come out fine. I have made this many many times and have never once had a problem with it. No it's not gonna win a cake competition any time soon but as a stand alone timeless classic it works just fine. If you want to make them as muffins fill 14 muffin paper cases with the above measures and bake at 200 degrees Celcius for about 20 mins for fluffy light muffins. Then I make a lemon drizzle type topping out of icing sugar and the juice of 3 lemons which gives extra flavour & keeps them moist for a couple of days. The cases can sometimes end up a little greasy so I like to wait to they've cooled then pop them inside another case when offering to friends etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zivatony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I gave this recipe one star because this is not the cake I thought it was. I was expecting more apparantly. I thought it was dense and dry. I was hoping for a moist rich lemon cake and it was absolutey not that! If you are looking for a cake do not try this as it was more like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! The result is a very dense, moist, and somewhat tart cake. It's exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This recipe has a good base, but could use some tweaking. I made this once following the exact directions and I ended up with a difficult to mix batter and a burnt cake. I would cream the butter, eggs and sugar together first. Add some lemon juice to the batter. Also, ditch the syrup topping, it's too bitter. And please, if you're making this, don't bake it for and hour and 15 minutes. I baked mine for 55 minutes and it was still too long. Sorry for all the negativity, but I gotta be honest! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was the driest cake I have even tasted. I thought there was something strange about this recipe when I filled the pan with the batter---it was too thick and I thought it needed more "moisture" (ie. milk, oil etc.)---five eggs? I definitely would't recommend this "moist" lemon poppy seed cake to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I over baked mine a bit too long, darn it, but it was still very good. I will make in again and use it as my all time favorite lemon poppyseed cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This cake is really delicious and lemony - we're actually using a version of it as a wedding cake! Some modifications I used to make this a really pretty cake: double the lemon zest, don't use the syrup at all, but instead make an icing from confectioners sugar, lemon juice and milk (I used soy milk) and pour it on the cooled cake. Then you can sprinkle flower petals on it for a beautiful Easter or wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States