Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Really liked this! I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan. Such interesting flavors! It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verucalane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this honey cake for my niece's Rosh Hashanah celebration. It was a huge hit......everyone loved it! It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really great! Mine also had too much batter for the pan-I think it was because the electric mixer beats too much air into it. Anyway. I skimmed off the bumpy top and flipped it upside down to serve. I used Makers Mark whiskey because we had it. 1/4 cup is A LOT and I caution you frpm licking the spoon and the beaters. It packs a punch!! Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
So MOIST! Followed the recipes exactly. I used a standard Bundt pan and the battered overflowed dramatically. Next time I will use a Bundt pan AND a small loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I used gluten free flour and xantham gum and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was the best honey cake I have ever had by far. I left our whiskey because we didn't have any in the house. Can't imagine it would make it better, but I would try it. I rejoined this website after forgetting my old account details in order to rave about this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a lovely moist cake however I found it too sweet. Next time I will adjust the white sugar to just 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Probably the best Honeycake recipe I have tried, it didn't last long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jdubaya77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lana Rayman
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Moist and delicious, as promised! It was gobbled up! I did cut down the white sugar to 1 cup, and I used amaretto instead of whiskey. It added a yummy almond flavour that came trough nicely. This one will be a favourite for the new year for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Rayman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This honey cake is totally yum. I especially like it because it is not light and spongy with lots of air like some other honey cakes I've tried; it is denser and more satisfying. I used a high quality bourbon and strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt and cooled for 20 minutes and the cake didn't come out easily. Part of it stuck to the pan and I ended up with only 2/3 of the cake on the plate so I am going to serve it sliced. Next time I will wait until the cake is completely cool (it will shrink away from the sides) and/or dust some flour in the pan to avoid sticking. Definitely let it cool longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States