Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very tasty recipe we enjoyed it a lot.Love it very much.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxmar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
this cake is easy to make, moist, delicious - we cannot stop eating it! i personally don't even like honey cake, so we used a little less cloves and nutmeg, and the cake is a showstopper. we finished it in one sitting. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Wow! Followed recipe exactly and the cake is amazingly moist. It took an hour in my oven, but I did lower the temp a tiny bit since my oven generally quicks quickly. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great cake, both in taste and texture (it's like a spice cake). I find, however, that only 1/4 C each of white and brown sugar is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nattybutt
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this cake for my children. I skipped the whiskey and orange juice but otherwise followed the recipe. I glazed the cake with a mixture of honey, brown sugar, butter, and vanilla essence. Next time I will poke holes in the cake first to let the glaze soak in for maximum moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for Hannukah, and was very please with the way it turned out. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This cake is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. It is so moist and flavorful and even better the next day. Will definitely make again. I don't think it needs icing but a nice dollop of whipped cream would be divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I thought this recipe looked familiar. This is Marcy Goldman's "Majestic and Moist New Yesr's Honey Cake" recipe out of her cookbook, A Treasury of Jewish Holiday Baking. The only variation is nutmeg instead of allspice, canola oil instead of vegetable oil, and the sliced or slivered almonds on top. None the less the very best Honey cake ever. I've been making it for years for holiday's and all year round and would never think of using a different recipe. Two notes, almonds are sprinkled on top prior to baking and you should let it cool in the pan for about 15 - 20 min and then invert onto a wire rack to cool completely before placing it on a serving platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is a lovely cake. I didn't have any orange juice at home so had to use pineapple instead and still taste great! As I'm in Australia i also substituted the all purpose flour baking powder/soda and salt for Self raising flour. I iced mine with a lemon glaze. Really nice different flavour. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This bread was a hit at my daughters birthday party! The only thing I omitted was the whiskey because no one in my family drinks:) But its was wonderful! Even my mother in law who complains about everything liked it. I'll definitely be making it again for family occasions! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialmegan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States