Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Really liked this! I halved the recipe and made it in a loaf pan. Such interesting flavors! It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verucalane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this honey cake for my niece's Rosh Hashanah celebration. It was a huge hit......everyone loved it! It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really great! Mine also had too much batter for the pan-I think it was because the electric mixer beats too much air into it. Anyway. I skimmed off the bumpy top and flipped it upside down to serve. I used Makers Mark whiskey because we had it. 1/4 cup is A LOT and I caution you frpm licking the spoon and the beaters. It packs a punch!! Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
So MOIST! Followed the recipes exactly. I used a standard Bundt pan and the battered overflowed dramatically. Next time I will use a Bundt pan AND a small loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I used gluten free flour and xantham gum and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was the best honey cake I have ever had by far. I left our whiskey because we didn't have any in the house. Can't imagine it would make it better, but I would try it. I rejoined this website after forgetting my old account details in order to rave about this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a lovely moist cake however I found it too sweet. Next time I will adjust the white sugar to just 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Probably the best Honeycake recipe I have tried, it didn't last long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jdubaya77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanaray
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Moist and delicious, as promised! It was gobbled up! I did cut down the white sugar to 1 cup, and I used amaretto instead of whiskey. It added a yummy almond flavour that came trough nicely. This one will be a favourite for the new year for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This honey cake is totally yum. I especially like it because it is not light and spongy with lots of air like some other honey cakes I've tried; it is denser and more satisfying. I used a high quality bourbon and strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt and cooled for 20 minutes and the cake didn't come out easily. Part of it stuck to the pan and I ended up with only 2/3 of the cake on the plate so I am going to serve it sliced. Next time I will wait until the cake is completely cool (it will shrink away from the sides) and/or dust some flour in the pan to avoid sticking. Definitely let it cool longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States