Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this honey cake for my niece's Rosh Hashanah celebration. It was a huge hit......everyone loved it! It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really great! Mine also had too much batter for the pan-I think it was because the electric mixer beats too much air into it. Anyway. I skimmed off the bumpy top and flipped it upside down to serve. I used Makers Mark whiskey because we had it. 1/4 cup is A LOT and I caution you frpm licking the spoon and the beaters. It packs a punch!! Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
So MOIST! Followed the recipes exactly. I used a standard Bundt pan and the battered overflowed dramatically. Next time I will use a Bundt pan AND a small loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I used gluten free flour and xantham gum and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was the best honey cake I have ever had by far. I left our whiskey because we didn't have any in the house. Can't imagine it would make it better, but I would try it. I rejoined this website after forgetting my old account details in order to rave about this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a lovely moist cake however I found it too sweet. Next time I will adjust the white sugar to just 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Probably the best Honeycake recipe I have tried, it didn't last long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanaray
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Moist and delicious, as promised! It was gobbled up! I did cut down the white sugar to 1 cup, and I used amaretto instead of whiskey. It added a yummy almond flavour that came trough nicely. This one will be a favourite for the new year for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This honey cake is totally yum. I especially like it because it is not light and spongy with lots of air like some other honey cakes I've tried; it is denser and more satisfying. I used a high quality bourbon and strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt and cooled for 20 minutes and the cake didn't come out easily. Part of it stuck to the pan and I ended up with only 2/3 of the cake on the plate so I am going to serve it sliced. Next time I will wait until the cake is completely cool (it will shrink away from the sides) and/or dust some flour in the pan to avoid sticking. Definitely let it cool longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this honey cake tonight exactly like the directions except for the whiskey it was delicious. I saved some batter and made 3 cupcakes so I could taste it before I served it to company. Honey cake is not my favorite but we serve this for the Jewish Holidays I am very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States