Moist German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I have made this cake 4 times in the last 2 years, twice for a dear friend's birthday (his favorite) and twice as the cake base in my Black Forest Trifle. Everytime it has been a huge hit! I spent over an hour last night looking for my printed version because I am making the Trifle for a company luncheon tomorrow. I finally decided to look here even though I thought I might have to wade through a bunch of recipes to find it. Halleluah!!! It was the 3rd one in the search results! No box mix for me when this super moist recipe is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Love the Coconut Pecan Frosting...but for all the work involved in this cake, a box cake has just as much going for it. I also like to use Tracy Larsen's Creamy Chocolate Frosting to frost the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This cake was super-moist, but it had no taste. All the taste came from the Coconut-Pecan frosting. It still went like wild-fire at the party, but I wasn't happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
I had to add 3 more ounces of chocolate to get any chocolate flavor out of this cake. The only thing that helps the flavor of this cake over all is the frosting, which I think is wonderful. I just was not pleased with the doughy bland taste of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
Not very impressed. The cola flavor was too strong, and overall taste was pretty blah. It was also moist to the point that it was soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This cake was well received by my boyfriend's family (100% true blooded Germans)... In fact, everyone came back for seconds! The cake's flavor was wonderful and it was very moist. I used Dr. Pepper for the cola and added 1/2 t. baking powder and salt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
I made this cake for my mom's birthday and everyone loved it. It was very moist and stayed that way, even though it didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Wonderful cake, very moist, excellent with the coconut pecan frosting. Everyone enjoyed it alot, lots of complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Cake was good, but nothing special. It was difficult to cut pieces because it was too moist. Last year I made a german chocolate cake from a box mix that I enjoyed more (and certainly cost much less to prepare).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States