Moist German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I can make this, but I can't keep it in the house!! Personally I find most cakes to dry for my taste, BUT this is perfectly moist and wonderful. I'm trying out different frostings with it, but this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good cake. Was moist. Was also a bit heavier than I expected. I will go the old method of separating the eggs and folding in eggs whites next time. Should make for a lighter texture.I also made chocolate butter cream and spread around the sides. It was the fix cake they cut into and the first one gone for Thanksgiving. I will surely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
A very good cake, but my daughter didn't like it -- too moist for her. I don't know if I'll make again since it wasn't a huge hit with the family. I've been eating a piece each day though of the leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista O.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Absolutely Wonderful!!! The only thing I did was add chocolate frosting to the sides of the cake, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I also used the German Chocolate Frosting I by Martha on this site. I was pretty proud of my creation, so I submitted the photo!! Oh yeah I used heart shaped pans since it was Valentines Day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
this was my first attempt at german chocolate cake and the recipe was fast and easy to follow. everyone in my family enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
The 8 of us who ate this cake found it to be moist and flavorful. I increased the amount of chocolate to 7 oz and used semisweet chocolate since we can't get German chocolate here and it still tasted like a German chocolate cake. I also added 1/2 tsp each of baking powder and of salt as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I made this and found it to be sooo moist and yummy. Many smiles. Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I prepared this recipe for my husband's birthday..It was way too bland, it taste more like a potato cake than a german chocolate. I wish i would have tried it out prior to my husband's b-day.. We were all disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I used skyzmum's tip and added 3 more ozs. of chocolate and sbander's suggestion and added 1/2 tsp. ea. of baking powder and salt. This cake is very moist and very good! The icing is delicious, much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This cake is wonderfully moist. I also found it not too hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States