Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is the BEST EVER!!! I've never tasted such moist date bread. I had an overabundance of dates that my inlaws sent from my husband's native country of Tunisia so they were rough chopped. I also used hot brewed coffee instead of the boiling water to soak the dates/butter in. When I was reading the recipe, I thought there was no way a bread made with only one quarter cup butter could be moist...boy was I wrong! After cooling a bit, I immediately wrapped it in wax paper then aluminum foil and into a ziplock bag. I then refrigerated it for several hours. I couldn't resist any longer so I had to try it....I can't believe it is sooo moist and tasty! A definite keeper and will use this when I receive another 'surplus' of tunisian dates! thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I had some date in my closet that needed to be used so I thought why not try this recipe. What a great choice it turned out to be. While I did modify the recipe somewhat, the core stands true. I ran out of dates, and as one reader suggeted I used 1-1/2 c. dates and 1 c. chopped prunes. I also used the orange idea another reviewer suggested. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 c. and after I toasted my raw walnuts in the oven I broke them apart with my hands, instead of chopping them b/c I like to taste my walnuts. The other thing different I did was to use all whole wheat flour and add 1 tablespoon vital wheat gluten (you can purchase this at a natural foods store). In my baking class I learned that whole wheat flour has very little gluten (the protein in flour) and by adding in the vital wheat gluten (which is almost all protein) it adds lightness to baked goods. This is exactly what it did to my loaves. I will do this again b/c IMO whole wheat is better than white or unbleached flours. I also used three mini pans and baked them for only 30 minutes and they were done. I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent! Added 1 tsp cinnamon and completely forgot to add nuts, but it was lovely nevertheless. Only change I would make next time is to reduce the amount of sugar, maybe to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Fabulous recipie! Very sweet, though. I'll cut down the sugar next time (the dates are sweet as is!). Used chopped almonds instead of walnuts (we're not walnut fans). Also, this dough would make good muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
A delicious, moist date bread just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very, very good. I made this for my husband to take to work, and he said everyone devoured it. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Absolutely the best! I like to grate the rind of a large navel orange and add the juice to equal 1 cup of boiling water but either way this bread has become an "old dependable" for me. alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The reason I like this recipe is because it's mostly dates--not a ton of flour and sugar to hide their flavor. I used half whole wheat flour with nice results and found the light sweetness perfect, especially if you plan to serve with jam. It can easily stand alone with no topping, but truly is great with cream cheese or butter. I did use coffee in place of water and like the rich color and very subtle flavor it imparts to this loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent moist flavorful. I didn't steam it but I wrapped it in foil while still hot from oven. It stayed moist for 3/4 days and I could slice it quite thin with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I would actually give this 4.5 stars; made it exactly as the recipe read first go-round - it was too salty (and I thought 1 t salt for this amount seemed like a lot). I cut the salt in half and used 1/3 C brown sugar, and it was fabulous the 2nd time around. Also, you can double this recipe and bake in a 13x9 pan - it makes a giant coffee cake. I served it at my B&B this past weekend to rave reviews. It remains moist for 4+ days if well covered and set in a cool spot. It was a favorite of the male guests and several asked to take pieces home with them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States