Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
A delicious, moist date bread just like grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Outstanding dish and very easy to make! I will make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Fabulous recipie! Very sweet, though. I'll cut down the sugar next time (the dates are sweet as is!). Used chopped almonds instead of walnuts (we're not walnut fans). Also, this dough would make good muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is the BEST EVER!!! I've never tasted such moist date bread. I had an overabundance of dates that my inlaws sent from my husband's native country of Tunisia so they were rough chopped. I also used hot brewed coffee instead of the boiling water to soak the dates/butter in. When I was reading the recipe, I thought there was no way a bread made with only one quarter cup butter could be moist...boy was I wrong! After cooling a bit, I immediately wrapped it in wax paper then aluminum foil and into a ziplock bag. I then refrigerated it for several hours. I couldn't resist any longer so I had to try it....I can't believe it is sooo moist and tasty! A definite keeper and will use this when I receive another 'surplus' of tunisian dates! thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wonderful and delicious, easy to make, enjoyed by all. Definately moist, but not soggy. Loved it! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This recipe is so delicious & very Moist, I made 2, gave one away. I sure would pass this to other friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
My mom brought me dates from a trip she was on...I have always had someone elses date nut bread and never made it myself! This was better then any date nut bread I've tasted. I made exactly as the recipe states. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is a great recipe! I've made it at least five times now and always receive rave reviews. I usually omit the walnuts and replace with apricots so the baby can eat it. This recipe is also really good if you substitute the dates for prunes and apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a really good bread. It was moist and perfect served warm with a little butter. My husband thought a brandy sauce might be nice to make it a fancier dessert for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOU2U1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Absolutely the best! I like to grate the rind of a large navel orange and add the juice to equal 1 cup of boiling water but either way this bread has become an "old dependable" for me. alaskababa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States