Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
DELISH! I varied it a bit...I used 1 c whole wheat flour 1/2 cup reg flour This was very sweet so next time I would use maybe 1/4c of sugar. I also toasted the walnuts first, definitely a must! I also didn't have brown sugar so I used white, still yummy! I only cooked it for 45mins on 350 b/c I like it a bit undercooked and it was PERFECT!! I topped my bread w/a mixture of milk and honey (maybe 2 TBS of honey and a tiny splash of milk) and it made the top nice and shiny and moist looking! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Wasn't sure if I liked dates or not, obviously I don't, and neither does anyone in my family of 8. I'm rating 3 because, I suppose, if you love dates, you could possibly like this bread. I wouldn't know because we couldn't get past the "weird" taste that the entire family kept asking about. Oh well, I smothered my slice w/strawberry jam and that made it edible enough for me, however the rest of my family wasn't too pleased, not matter what selection of jams I gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this for my dad because he remembered having date bread as a child. It was wonderful and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Definitely best thing I've ever baked which my husband agrees, though I was quite shocked after devouring in 2 pieces how high calories they are. I only used half the sugar and it's sweet enough. Will bake again to impress visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I had some date in my closet that needed to be used so I thought why not try this recipe. What a great choice it turned out to be. While I did modify the recipe somewhat, the core stands true. I ran out of dates, and as one reader suggeted I used 1-1/2 c. dates and 1 c. chopped prunes. I also used the orange idea another reviewer suggested. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 c. and after I toasted my raw walnuts in the oven I broke them apart with my hands, instead of chopping them b/c I like to taste my walnuts. The other thing different I did was to use all whole wheat flour and add 1 tablespoon vital wheat gluten (you can purchase this at a natural foods store). In my baking class I learned that whole wheat flour has very little gluten (the protein in flour) and by adding in the vital wheat gluten (which is almost all protein) it adds lightness to baked goods. This is exactly what it did to my loaves. I will do this again b/c IMO whole wheat is better than white or unbleached flours. I also used three mini pans and baked them for only 30 minutes and they were done. I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very, very good. I made this for my husband to take to work, and he said everyone devoured it. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This bread was pretty good, but I found it to be dry despite the fact that I added applesauce to make it extra moist. I followed reviewers' advice and soaked the dates in coffee and decreased the amount of sugar. Not bad, but not as great as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
awesome it was exactly what i was looking for Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent moist flavorful. I didn't steam it but I wrapped it in foil while still hot from oven. It stayed moist for 3/4 days and I could slice it quite thin with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States