Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I found this recipe very easy to follow and the results were very good. I topped the bread with cream cheese. A slice of date & nut bread and a cup of warm coffee is a good way to start the day. James Konitzer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCKonitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have never made date nut bread--I could never live up to my Mom's fabulous recipe! (people would ask her for a loaf starting before Thanksgiving--it was a Holiday favorite. ) Well, I said a prayer,asked her to watch over me from above:) and made this recipe. I could not find hers. It came out fabulous! Was especially delicious after spending the night in the fridge wrapped in foil (I would highly recommend wrapping in foil as soon as possible to keep the highest possible moisture level) I chopped the dates and walnuts coarsely--will do that again. Not to sweet --just right! Was outstanding with cream cheese and cup of coffee! Will share this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Perfect recipe. It's a keeper. The loaf came out so moist and nice. The only changes that I made were adding a cup of raisins and reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup. mmmm. Thanks a lot for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Elsa's and LoriLeigh's reviews helped me to decide to cut the salt in half but to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to replace the reported loss of flavor. I figured my family could always sprinkle with salt. Seriously, for home consumption, it's a tried and true all-purpose option. None did. They LOVED the muffins. Yes, it being summer, I cut down on oven time by making muffins. Filled the cups 2/3 full, set the timer for 20 minutes, left 'em in for 23. Ovens vary, so I recommend checking after 20 minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this for my dad, at his request. I followed the recipe exactly and he loved it. I did have to continue baking it a bit longer...about 10 minutes. I am not particularly a fan of dates but I really did enjoy this bread. It was moist and delicious, not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe is delish as written! It got rave reviews by company visiting us for a week. The first time I made this recipe I decided to make it according to a reviewer stated... 1/2 the salt and a 1/3 of a cup of borwn sugar. Blechhhh It had no flavor. I don't add salt to my food nor am I a big sweet eater so it sounded fine. I assure you it totally lacked flavor. The 2nd time I made it I went with another reviewer's recommendation of using an extra scoop of flour and flax seeds. That was the worst! Not a quicker I gave it another go. This time making it exactly as the recipe was written. It came out delicious. My husband who is not at all a sweet eater loves it and has asked me to make it again. What I love so much about this recipe is it doesn't have tons of flour or sugar to subtract from the date nuts and walnuts. Yum! Give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was good, but not exactly the taste that I expected. Very moist and a good recipe, but not my favorite quick-bread. My husband and son loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I tried this and it was great. However, from the picture I was afraid it would be too moist. I added an extra scoop of flour and also some flax seed to make it healthier. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The reason I like this recipe is because it's mostly dates--not a ton of flour and sugar to hide their flavor. I used half whole wheat flour with nice results and found the light sweetness perfect, especially if you plan to serve with jam. It can easily stand alone with no topping, but truly is great with cream cheese or butter. I did use coffee in place of water and like the rich color and very subtle flavor it imparts to this loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a very good bread. Not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States