Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Nice and moist but not a lot of flavor. There are no spices in it. I think it could use some kind of spice but I'm not sure what??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I make this bread with vegetable shortening and egg replacer (because of allergies) and it is delicious. The trick is to use those super moist, fresh picked Medjool Dates. I also made this recipe into 12 muffins and my daughter loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My first attempt at date bread and I love it. I substituted the sugar for a 1/2 tsp of stevia liquid and 1/4 cup of mini-chocolate chips. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
when I read the preview , I should have realized when they said "figgy Pudding" refrence it was not going to be like a bread. Too dense for my family and myself personally. I like a "drier" date nut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Love it. I use either boiling coffee or very hot OJ to soak the dates just to add dimension to the loaf. I also have made it with only 2 c dates and it turns out fine :) Also have used oil instead of butter, and its worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Followed recipe as written except I didn't have any nuts on hand and I added some cinnamon. After cooling a bit I did wrap and put in the refrigerator as others suggested. Turned out delicious and moist but too sweet. Next time I'll cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I just got this out of the oven and could not wait to review. Same old story, had some dates to use up. Loved store bought date nut bread spread with cream cheese as a kid, it was really dense and heavy. Not sure if this will turn out the same but figured I'd try to recreate what I loved as a kid but can't seem to buy anymore. Like one reviewer mentioned, I used a mix of white and whole wheat flour. To be on the safer side because I am usually a disaster at baking, I used only 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. True to my usual form, I afterward realized it was WW pastry flour which I'm sure will make it less dense then I was hoping for. Also, I forgot to mix the egg in so I had to mix that in last after everything was mixed (baking disaster anyone?) Still, when I cut a slice off while it was still warm, the flavor was perfect and the texture was like that of a moist zucchini bread. As one reviewer recommended, I wrapped the rest in wax paper and foil and refrigerated to see if it gets more firm and moist. Either way, I will be repeating this recipe with the correct flour proportions and hopefully not forgetting the egg. Even with my baking mess ups, I couldn't make this taste bad! That makes it a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I found this recipe very easy to follow and the results were very good. I topped the bread with cream cheese. A slice of date & nut bread and a cup of warm coffee is a good way to start the day. James Konitzer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCKonitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have never made date nut bread--I could never live up to my Mom's fabulous recipe! (people would ask her for a loaf starting before Thanksgiving--it was a Holiday favorite. ) Well, I said a prayer,asked her to watch over me from above:) and made this recipe. I could not find hers. It came out fabulous! Was especially delicious after spending the night in the fridge wrapped in foil (I would highly recommend wrapping in foil as soon as possible to keep the highest possible moisture level) I chopped the dates and walnuts coarsely--will do that again. Not to sweet --just right! Was outstanding with cream cheese and cup of coffee! Will share this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Perfect recipe. It's a keeper. The loaf came out so moist and nice. The only changes that I made were adding a cup of raisins and reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup. mmmm. Thanks a lot for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States