Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I followed this recipe as written (which I always do when trying a new recipe) and sorry to say, I did not care for it. I agree with other reviews that it is very bland and it was also dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Delicious! I have tried for many years to find a recipe and/or prepare a date nut bread to equal Thomas' Date Nut Bread found in New York City and on the east coast. This is it. Deleted my other recipes. Truly moist and delicious. Try with cream cheese. Thank you so very much for sharing this. I prepared this as listed, except I used all of two 8 oz. packages of dates rather than save the little bit of leftover. It probably added, perhaps, 1/4 cup of dates to the total called for in the recipe. Try to prepare this the day before using so it can age a bit before serving. Not necessary but nice. I think it makes the bread easier to slice. Thank you once more. Grace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I turned this into fruitcake, which my family loves. I made a double batch, used 1.5 cups chopped dates, rest candied fruitcake mix, used .75 cup of orange juice, reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup, and used a mixture of walnuts and pecans, adding 2 tsp cinnamon. The family LOVED it, moist, sweet enough, holds together but is tender. A real hit for the holiday, I'll make it again, and I'll be glad to do it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dyersville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda beckham
Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This came out very dense and dry, I'm not sure if I missed something or cooked it too long. Didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Thank you! Had some dates to use up. Put in abt 2 tsp of orange extract, sub'd 1c of flax seed meal for walnuts and added cinnamon, allspice, clove, and nutmeg. Used ww flour. Satisfying and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Deliciously moist! Had to go back and have 2 slices. Baked it for 42 min, added a tsp of cinnamon and cut the sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lannarae
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Excellent! Easy to make and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The texture of the bread was PERFECT. I cut the amount of sugar in half and it still tasted amazing. I recommend leaving the dates chunky because when you add it with the water, it breaks it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I have made this bread four times and each time it seems better. I've tried many others, but this is the best. I also added raisins to the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States