Moist Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I cut the sugar back by half and I used homemade unsweetened applesauce for half of the yogurt and half of the oil called for in this recipe. I also used mini chocolate chips. Baked at 350*, these muffins were done in a little over 22 minutes. They did take longer to bake because I really filled my muffin tins--my muffins were GINORMOUS. One of THE BEST chocolate muffins we've ever had. Noone could tell that I cut back the sugar or the fat in the recipe. It still tasted luscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Really one of the luscious muffins I have ever baked.. Very chocolatey n it tasted yummier n more moist the next day .I didnt make any changes in the recipe.The baking time might vary a bit.. I preheated the oven to 190 degrees only. Got 24 muffins and 3 small cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mini Binoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I really like this recipe. With my first batch, it made two dozen regular sized muffins and one dozen mini muffins, and they were all gone within a few days. My second time around I tweaked the recipe a little, using 1/4 tsp mint extract instead of vanilla and mint chocolate chips. Tasty either way, but I am going to try it with a number of different chip combinations because the recipe is so simple, tasty and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were FABULOUS!! I made changes based on personal preferences, but the recipe is good AS IS!! 1. DEFINITELY add 1 tsp salt. 2. I used 1/4 cup STRONG COFFEE (cooled) instead of the milk, intensifies the chocolate flavor, you WILL NOT taste the coffee, I promise! 3. I used Vanilla Greek yogurt, because that's what I had. 4. Baked only for 16 or 17 minutes, and I also ended up with 18 muffins. Thank you so much, this is an EASY, KEEPER RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I was about to try this after seeing the video yesterday, but the measurements and ingredients are different in the recipe here and the video. I'm not sure which is right. Are the reviews for the written recipe or the video. The video calls for sour cream (as opposed to yogurt in the recipe) and no salt, and the amounts of flour and sugar are different. Seems like a major mix-up to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good. I didnt have yogurt so I added 1cup sour cream instead and instead of 1 egg I added 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
First time I made it, I used Mint Chocolate Chips...my husband's friends loved them. I am now making a batch with Chocolate Chips and substituded the vanilla for homemade Kahlua. My husband will bring these with him on his hunting trip. He feels spoiled. (and because of my oven I baked at 395 deg for 14 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
thanks a lot for sharing this recipe. these muffins were the best i have ever made. i followed the recipe exactly and everything about them was perfect. THANK YOU. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I make these all the time! I love them!p @Merchant_M : you can't give these an accurate rating because you left out the chocolate chips, one of the key ingredients! Of course it wasn't chocolatey enough, you didn't add the chocolate chips!! Shame on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Made these for my picky eater toddler. I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 and 1/2 cups of regular flour to make it a bit healthier. Also, I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup Greek yogurt. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt too, and used mini chips. I baked them at 350 degrees and they were still ready after 20 minutes. Recipe made 15 medium muffins. Pretty moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States