Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gehnt
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
After reading some of the reviews about it being too dry I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil then reduced the cooking time to 30mins. It turned out deliciously rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It was EXTREMELY dry. I could barely eat it. The flavor was not THAT good, but WAS good at the same time. Next time I won't make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Needs (ALOT of) improving. p.s. to anyone reading this, don't make it. BIG waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This recipe needs to be renamed. "Sahara Chocolate Cake" would be more appropriate. I upped the butter and cut the bake time as suggested and I still got a dry mess. I guess I'll pay more attention to the number of stars a recipe has next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Unless I did something terribly wrong. This was unbelievable dry. I even cut the 45 min bake time.The frosting recipe did not make enough to even cover cake. The cake was to dry to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What I did was I baked it shorter than the given time. And it was really nice! or should I say--almost perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
the flavour is great. clearly an error was made in typing. It needs a cup ofmilk and some oil. The cake was ok because I served it for my daughter's birthday with some ice cream. I am sure the milk and oil would go a long way with moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've made this cake several times. My family loves it. It's my husbands favorite chocolate cake. I first tried it when it had 5 stars, and was suprised when I came back to it and it only had 3 stars. Not Dry, but how could it be with with a cup of coffee, a cup of buttermilk, and 1/2 cup of oil. I only baked it for 35 minutes. ( that's when the toothpick came out clean). WE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe turns out dry, dense, and not very flavorful...to call it "Moist Chocolate Cake" is very deceiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe followed the instructions to the tee. I found this cake to be very dry to the point it just falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States