Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I would rate this cake a minus 1 if possible! I was looking for a chocolate cake made with hot coffee that I had great success with in the past. Needless to say, I should have read the reviews. Somehow the milk or buttermilk ingredient was not included in this recipe. Don't waste the cocoa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
THIS CAKE WAS SO BAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe followed the instructions to the tee. I found this cake to be very dry to the point it just falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I've made this cake several times. My family loves it. It's my husbands favorite chocolate cake. I first tried it when it had 5 stars, and was suprised when I came back to it and it only had 3 stars. Not Dry, but how could it be with with a cup of coffee, a cup of buttermilk, and 1/2 cup of oil. I only baked it for 35 minutes. ( that's when the toothpick came out clean). WE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Moist? NOT! I learned a lesson here - READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE PROCEEDING! This cake was sooooo disappointing. There is NO LIQUID in the ingredients list. This cake is the anti-moist cake. I recommend you remove this recipe from your site. . . It doesn't produce an enjoyable result. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
It was EXTREMELY dry. I could barely eat it. The flavor was not THAT good, but WAS good at the same time. Next time I won't make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
What I did was I baked it shorter than the given time. And it was really nice! or should I say--almost perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This recipe needs to be renamed. "Sahara Chocolate Cake" would be more appropriate. I upped the butter and cut the bake time as suggested and I still got a dry mess. I guess I'll pay more attention to the number of stars a recipe has next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe turns out dry, dense, and not very flavorful...to call it "Moist Chocolate Cake" is very deceiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Needs (ALOT of) improving. p.s. to anyone reading this, don't make it. BIG waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States